Chaos Magic - Furyborn - (9/10)

Published on July 3, 2019


  1. You Will Breathe Again
  2. Furyborn
  3. Like Never Before
  4. Beware of Silent Waters
  5. Falling Again
  6. Bravely Beautiful
  7. Throw Me to the Wolves
  8. I'd Give It All
  9. Path of the Brave
  10. My Affliction
  11. I'm Your Cancer


Melodic Metal / Symphonic Metal


Frontiers Records

Playing Time:






After four years of silence, Caterina Nix‘s Chaos Magic has conjured its second album: Furyborn. Compared to its predecessor, it’s not even in the same realm of music, as it’s shifted almost entirely away from Chaos Magic‘s rather typical (although still good) electronic/symphonic sound. Instead, we’re blessed with some of the rawest, ground-pounding, badass melodic metal, with electronic and power metal elements tastefully woven in.


The biggest reason for this change in sound is due to Timo Tolkki (ex-Stratovarius), who coordinated much of Chaos Magic’s debut, being absent this time around, giving Caterina Nix more influence in the project alongside singer/songwriter/guitarist Nasson. And, I’m sorry to say, I don’t miss Tolkki’s contributions here in the slightest. The Caterina/Nasson duo manages to pull off masterfully emotional arrangements while maintaining an accessible, almost poppy atmosphere. This is the kind of music that both metalheads and your average mainstream listener can get behind, and that’s not a bad thing at all.


There’s not a track on this album that isn’t worth its emotional weight in gold and there’s a huge amount of variety. ‘Bravely Beautiful’ and ‘Like Never Before’ tread fairly closely to the pop side of things. There’s no shortage of heavier, darker tunes, though, and there is, of course, the obligatory tear-jerker, ‘Beware of Silent Waters’. And then we have my favourites: the attitude-packing ‘Throw Me to the Wolves’, ‘The Path of the Brave’, and ‘I’m Your Cancer’. While all of these have a similar aggression under them, I wouldn’t put them in the same category, other than that they’re all totally badass. Especially that growl in ‘Throw Me to the Wolves’. Holy fuck. It’s not much, but what a nice touch. It gives me goosebumps every time.


Fueling this dynamic selection are bandmates Franco Lama (The Shrink) taking care of the programming, Carlos Hernandez on drums, and Hermaunt Folatre on bass. Plus, supporting Caterina on vocals are top voices such as Evergrey’s Tom EnglundRonnie Romero of Rainbow, Ailyn Gimenez (ex-Sirenia), Mistheria’s Mistheria, and Nasson. While Caterina’s voice is so ridiculously versatile, powerful, and just out-right cool that she could easily carry the album herself, having a few other voices gives the album a bit more depth and character, and I think that it was an altogether good move.


If, like me, you love a strong melody, Furyborn is full of them. The choruses are powerful and memorable, and the verses flow seamlessly. And if, like me, you love a massive guitar sound and tight rhythm section, Furyborn is also full of those. You won’t want to miss this album, because it’s easily one of the best of the month.


Originally written for


Author: Kane Gagen-Parry

Kane's love of metal is only matched by his love of his dog. When he's not busy headbanging, slaying beasts, or pumping iron, he enjoys embarking upon quests with his noble canine companion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *