Death Toll Rising - Infection Legacy - (7/10)

Published on November 4, 2013


  1. Infection Legacy
  2. Judas Cradle
  3. Scorched Earth Policy
  4. Born to Defile
  5. Malice Incarnate
  6. Crack Open a Cold One
  7. Slaughter to Survive
  8. Revelation Despair
  9. Septic Entity


Death / Thrash



Playing Time:







Visit page

The death/thrash category has seen quite the handful of bands throughout the years attempting to leave their mark on a subgenre that I feel to be very tough in which to be successful. The early part of this century was probably when it saw the most action and nowadays even the big names such as The Crown and Witchery have been fairly silent. Other bands such as Revocation and Ouroboros have been attempting to revive the style with a new, distinct flavor, and to this short list we can also add Death Toll Rising.


The difference between Death Toll Rising and the two aforementioned acts, though, is level of technicality, both in terms of musicianship and song structures. Death Toll Rising simply can’t compete with those guys, so rather than finesse through their music they’ve opted to brutalize and blitz to a slightly more traditional tone. Their sophomore release, Infection Legacy, is mostly a straight shot forward but there are a few points of interest.


Having said that, the album starts off on shaky ground with a generic track we’ve all heard a hundred times before, but “Judas Cradle” rectifies that with pummeling guitar lines and a dual vocal approach that would make Exhumed proud. Similarities to Exhumed, actually, crop up all over the place with a good dose of Floridian style Death Metal ala Cannibal Corpse’s The Bleeding. But remember, this is much thrashier than either of those bands and Death Toll Rising also manages to score some style points when they pull off unexpected guitar flourishes in places where the prevailing rhythm would have sufficed.


Despite all their efforts, though, Death Toll Rising might not stir up enough buzz with this music. Sure, it’s good but it’s not great and a few standout tracks won’t win over any fans when the album begins and ends on two downers that give a bad first impression and leave mixed feelings when all is said and done. If, however, they can pen an entire album comprised of songs such as “Scorched Earth Policy” and “Slaughter to Survive,” then they have more than a fighting chance at gaining some ground.



Hans Rot

Author: Hans Rot

"Heavy Metal Hänsel" knows no other form of music and vehemently denies its existence when challenged. Left with only his primal instincts and encyclopedic knowledge of Iron Maiden lyrics to defend his beliefs, he lashes out at nonbelievers and naysayers with falsetto abandon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *