Krimh - Gedankenkarussell - (6/10)

Published on June 22, 2017


  1. The Harm
  2. Hydra
  3. Gendankenkarussell
  4. Negative
  5. Nothing
  6. A Tale Left Untold
  7. Facade
  8. Żałość
  9. Enter My Inner Void


Progressive Death / Post Metal / Ambient



Playing Time:







Visit page

Though Austrian musician Kerim “Krimh” Lechner is probably best known as one of the former drummers for Decapitated and the current drummer of Septicflesh, as well as some drumcam YouTube videos, he’s been hard at work with his solo project Krimh for the past few years. He recently released his third full length album, Gedankenkarussell, which sees Krimh finally recruiting some vocalists for the project.



While the first two albums, Explore and Krimhera were decent in their own right, the albums felt incomplete, most likely because of the lack of vocals. Blending progressive-ish death metal with ambient, djent, and post-styling sounds like a recipe for disaster in my book, but Krimh was able to pull it off in a cohesive and relatively enjoyable fashion. The addition of vocalists to Krimh’s music turns out to be a double edged sword. Patryk Zwoliński (Blindead) and Rafał Piotrowski (Decapitated), along with three other guest vocalists, do their best to hold things together, but the end result is a quite choppy and floundering listen. The varying vocal deliveries, though well-performed in their own right, only serve to further what can only be described as an identity crisis. Fortunately, Krimh also released an instrumental version to alleviate this, but that leads us back to the initial problem with the earlier releases.


As far as the music goes, Krimh certainly has chops on the instruments he plays. A variety of styles are basically thrown into a blender, with some form of atmospheric chugging sort of providing the glue to hold things loosely together. From the post-y, grunge of the opener, which eventually moves into a heavy swaggering chug, to the rhythmic death metal of the title track, there is a hell of lot going on and it’s really not as convincing as Krimh’s early material. Ambient segments and post-y wandering take up way to much of the space; though the actual metal sections seem that much heavier as a result.



While it’s cool to hear vocalists on Krimh’s music, the use of five different singers for nine tracks results in a convoluted mess that’s almost as disjointed as the music itself. So despite my initial sentiments of wanting vocals, it turns out that the instrumental version jives much better. Still, Gedankenkarussell seems a sizable step back on most fronts. Krimh’s ability to weave together cohesive tracks through a variety different styles is certainly the centerpiece of the album, but there’s a little too much aimless wandering for it to grasp the big impact that it’s reaching for.

Shawn Miller

Author: Shawn Miller

Scraping the bottom of the barrel since 1983, Shawn Miller is a heavy metal enthusiast living in the not-so-far reaches of Central PA. He is The Metal Observer's resident purveyor of the blackened, the foul and the filthy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *