Midnight - Shox of Violence - (7/10)

Published on February 15, 2017


  1. Death Scream
  2. Who Gives a Fuck?
  3. Ready for Destruction
  4. Groin Gripper
  5. Sadist Sodomystic Seducer
  6. In League with Satan (Venom cover)
  7. Too Loud for the Crowd (Venom cover)
  8. The Witch
  9. Breakout (Taipan cover)
  10. Hells Fire (Mistreater cover)
  11. TAP
  12. When I Die (The Pagans cover)
  13. Unholy and Rotten (Live)
  14. ...on the Wings of Satan (Live)
  15. Slick Black Cadillac (Quiet Riot cover)
  16. Nuclear Bomb (The Spits cover)
  17. Black Kar (The Spits cover)
  18. Rat Face (The Spits cover)
  19. Shitty World (The Spits cover)
  20. Death Sentence (Crucifixion cover)
  21. Wicked Woman (Scarab cover)
  22. Eyes of Satan (The Pagans cover)
  23. Watch Your Step (Girlschool cover)
  24. Vomit Queens (Demo)
  25. Cross Held High (Demo)


Black / Speed Metal


Hells Headbangers Records

Playing Time:







Visit page

Originally released as a four track EP at the end of 2016, this latest version of Shox of Violence sees the addition of twenty-one tracks; mostly in the form of cover songs, live tracks, and a handful of demos. Basically these extra tracks have turned the release into the band’s fourth compilation album, which means Cleveland’s sleaziest blackened speed metal band now has twice as many compilations as full length albums.


Midnight Logo


The four EP tracks, for which the compilation is named, show Midnight in fine form. Fast paced speed metal riffing, with more than a tinge of punk rock aesthetic, provide a rampaging backing for Athenar’s rabid shouts. The double kick percussion, taken from the book of Philthy Phil Taylor, and the thumping bass lines thunder along, and every so often a few quick, yet solid solos fill the air. What follows, though, is a slew of tracks cycling through Midnight’s past few years, along with a barrage of cover tracks and live offerings. While a lot of the tracks have been previously released on limited singles, splits and whatnot, one must admit the convenience of having everything in the same place.



The cover tracks are really hit and miss across the board, but it definitely gives some perspective into the (otherwise obvious) influences at play in Midnight’s music. The band tackles tracks from the infamous Cleveland punk band The Pagans, some noisy punk for the people from The Spits, as well as a track each from Quiet Riot, Taipan, Mistreater, Girlschool, Scaraba and Crucifixion. As far as the covers go, Midnight’s take on classic Venom fodder, “In League with Satan” and “Too Loud for the Crowd” are the standouts among the bunch. Midnight puts their own foul and filthy twist on all of the songs, but “Slick Black Cadillac” might just be the most surprising transformation.


Midnight Live


Some of the tracks are beyond raw, with the lowest lo-fi production imaginable, and the live tracks, despite the pulsing energy, sound like they were recorded in a dumpster. There really seems to be no rhyme or reason with the production job; if it’s already on tape they threw it in. That’s something that really makes the compilation play through like a haphazard collection of filler, among some pristine riff-centric blackened speed metal. Does that make Shox of Violence any less blasphemous and fun? Hell no, but just remember to take this one for what it is.

Shawn Miller

Author: Shawn Miller

Scraping the bottom of the barrel since 1983, Shawn Miller is a heavy metal enthusiast living in the not-so-far reaches of Central PA. He is The Metal Observer's resident purveyor of the blackened, the foul and the filthy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *