Slugdge - Dim & Slimeridden Kingdoms - (9/10)

Published on November 11, 2015


  1. Dim & Slimeridden Kingdoms
  2. Spore Ensemble
  3. The Toxic Salts
  4. Suffering Quahog
  5. Flying Snails
  6. The Chapter for Transforming into a Slug
  7. Pellet in the Head
  8. Unchained Malady





Playing Time:



United Kingdom




Visit page


For those who have paid strict obeisance to the lord of all that is mucousy, the almighty limbless one, Mollusca the Greatfather, the excellence of the third full-length sacrifice from English duo Slugdge should come as no surprise. Entitled Dim & Slimeridden Kingdoms, the record carries forth an unerring tribute of death metal plashed with an ooze dense and dripping with a glorious ebon sheen.



Ever ready to appease the boundless satiations of their gross lord and savior, Slugdge spew ambition over the course of eight fulsome tracks, with only “Flying Snails” narrowly missing a five-minute running time; the duration of each homage serving up onslaughts of intense and often sweeping moments of heavy-handed death metal. The conduit of all things slime, Matt Moss’s vocals have never sounded so commanding, pulling off Anaal Nathrakh-style cleans just as evenly as he rips out demonic cries and bestial roars. And noise creator extreme Kev Pearson must have toiled deep underground for the past year to have wrenched forth such an exquisite batch of riffs and solos, a breed of which that routinely reminds of a Trey Azagthoth-meets-Mike Amott-meets-Earthworm Jim hybrid.



A long and exacting listen is Dim & Slimeridden Kingdoms, and the armies which slide and slither will have it no other way. Earth-shakers like “Spore Ensemble” and “The Chapter for Transforming into a Slug” exhibit Slugdge at their most devastating, but it’s the more grandiose tracks bookending the record that leave the most terrific of impressions. Another massive achievement from Moss and Pearson, and a record that should sate the Great Consumer for at least another year or so. Perhaps He’ll even begin to demand they charge for such musicianship, but until then it’s ‘’Name Your Price’ at their Bandcamp. Such generosity won’t likely be matched in 2015.  




Evan Mugford

Author: Evan Mugford

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *