Upon a Burning Body - The World Is My Enemy Now - (8/10)

Published on September 14, 2014


  1. Red Razor Wrists
  2. Scars
  3. Fountain of Wishes
  4. Bring the Rain
  5. Pledge Your Allegiance
  6. The New Breed
  7. Toda Madrè ò un Desmadrè
  8. Judgement
  9. The World Is My Enemy Now
  10. Blood, Sweat, and Tears (Featuring Matt Heafy of Trivium)
  11. I've Earned My Time (Featuring Tyler Smith of The Word Alive)
  12. Middle Finger to the World


Metalcore / Deathcore


Sumerian Records

Playing Time:







Visit page

The various core genres have never scared me like they do for many of the ‘trve’ metalheads out there in our culture and I often find myself returning to some of the larger bands who have established the modern brand of musical output. Unfortunately I don’t find myself actively looking for new bands in the style, so too many solid underground acts don’t show up on my radar without being recommended. This is how I ended up with a copy of the latest record from Texas’ Upon a Burning Body. This is exactly the kind of band that I would have easily skipped over as just one more mediocre metalcore act instead of taking the time to really listen to them. With their latest slab of deathy metalcore entitled The World Is My Enemy Now though, I have to admit that I was hooked by what they had to offer. Enough so that I just might go dig into their previous discography.


Upon a Burning Body Logo


While Upon a Burning Body is more often than not lumped into the deathcore genre, don’t let that defined genre label fool you. This band is all about diversifying their musical output on The World Is My Enemy Now. At the foundation of their sound, the band is most definitely metalcore in the relentless chunk riffing, hardcore style barking vocals, and overlaid melodic leads. From there the band does lean towards and more vicious and aggressive stance where occasional guttural vocals and a death metal riff will come bursting out like the repetitive rhythms of “Scars.” The band isn’t afraid of pushing a bit of vocal hook to give it that classic metalcore sound either and a track like “Blood, Sweat, and Tears” will verify that they can pull that off too – even if it’s with the help of Trivium’s Matt Heafy.


From there, The World Is My Enemy Now navigates a slew of different nuances of influence to make the album one of the more eclectic releases of the year. Hints of industrial synths and rhythm work pop up in “Red Razor Wrists,” a bluesy riff drives home “A New Breed,” Latin infused acoustic guitars spike an interlude, and “Pledge Your Allegiance” owes a pretty big share of its nu metal chugging to controversial stalwarts Slipknot. It’s this sort of twisting in stylistic detailing that makes this album a lot more fun than most of their peers’ releases and gives the rather run of the mill breakdown riffs and slamming drums more meat to bite with your auditory teeth.



Upon a Burning Body unveils an album that was a pure an utter surprise in quality for a metalcore/deathcore record. While those who are still not sold on the modern combination of the two aggressive musical styles will probably still want to step away from The World Is My Enemy Now, fans of the genre will definitely want to look into this well executed and eclectic release. I may have never heard of this band prior to this review, but I will definitely be looking into their previous records too.

Matt Reifschneider

Author: Matt Reifschneider

Matt Reifschneider loves three things in this world: his wife, cult films, and thrash metal. When he isn't scouring the landscape for new thrash, he spends his time writing for Blood Brothers Film Reviews.

One thought on “Upon a Burning Body – The World Is My Enemy Now

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *