The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Tramp's White Lion - Rocking The USA (-/10) - USA - 2005

Genre: Hard Rock
Label: Frontiers Records
Playing time: 94:55
Band homepage: Tramp's White Lion


CD 1

  1. Lights And Thunder
  2. Hungry
  3. Lonely Nights
  4. Love Don’t Come Easy
  5. Broken Heart
  6. Fight To Survive
  7. Cry For Freedom
  8. You’re All I Need
  9. Little Fighter

CD 2

  1. It’s Over
  2. Living On The Edge
  3. Tell Me
  4. Wait
  5. Lady Of The Valley
  6. When The Children Cry
  7. Radar Love
Tramp's White Lion - Rocking The USA

WHITE LION is a band that I always thought was underrated in the late ’80s/early ’90s. Along with bands like SKID ROW and CINDERELLA, WHITE LION was also unfairly lumped into the Hair/Glam Metal scene, even though the band had so much more substance that the average “hair” band. WHITE LION called in quits in 1991, after releasing four albums. Band founder/leader/vocalist Mike Tramp carried on and in 2005 resurrected the LION. Well, sort of.


What we have here is TRAMP’S WHITE LION. In other words, Mike Tramp and a bunch of new guys. And for the new band’s first release, we have “Rocking The USA”, a two-disc collection of live tracks recorded during the band’s 2005 USA tour. The new guys pull off the old tracks quite well and while Tramp’s vocals have aged a bit, it’s still fun to hear him singing these songs again.


The recording is clear and crisp, but lacks power at times. I assume this has to do with however these songs were recorded. The crowd noise is very quiet (also a result of however this was recorded), but what crowd noise you can hear makes it sound like they were really into the performance.


All of the even remotely well-known WHITE LION tracks are covered here. Highlights include, “Hungry”, “Broken Heart”, “Wait”, the GOLDEN EARRING cover “Radar Love” and the hugely popular “When The Children Cry”.


So fans of WHITE LION longing for a reunion, TRAMP’S WHITE LION is probably as close as you’re going to get. This is a solid live collection that’s sure to please. (Online May 24, 2006)

Eric Vieth

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer