The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Keenants - Let’s Start From The Beginning (8/10) - Italy - 2005

Genre: Modern Metal
Label: Casket Music
Playing time: 47:53
Band homepage: Keenants


  1. This Song Is Not In A Playlist >mp3
  2. Waiting For God >mp3
  3. Ride On The Grind
  4. Earthbound
  5. Feedback
  6. Unbreakable >mp3
  7. Nazarene
  8. Descent
  9. Ever Winter Sky
  10. Let’s Start From The Beginning
  11. Not A Word
  12. Revelation
  13. Revelation II (Put Your Mind In Action)
Keenants - Let’s Start From The Beginning

“Let’s Start From The Beginning“ is finally the newest output of the Italians and it’s also their first full-length. A few months ago, I had the pleasure to review their EP “Revelation” and now I have this album in my hands, which shows a nice improvement. With “Descent”, “Unbreakable”, “Not A Word”, “Revelation”, “Earthbound”, “Let’s Start From The Beginning” and “Feedback”, they have all songs from that 2004s EP on this record, too, but the difference is that the production is now much better and the songs have more quality, too,


The opening track is “This Song Is Not In A Playlist” and shows all the power of KEENANTS. This is Modern Metal somewhere between SEPULTURA and SYSTEM OF A DOWN but it should appeal to more fans than adorers of aforementioned groups. They also integrate New Metal, a bit Hardcore and there’s always a dash of weirdness, similarly known by their Italian colleagues of LINEA 77. The KEENANTS are hugely copying but they do it that well, you can’t really blame them for being copycats. It’s also recognizable that they are truly looking for an own identity, which is always good and it’s witnessed by tracks like the catchy “Waiting For God” or “Ride On The Grind”. The other three new songs “Nazarene”, “Ever Winter Sky” and “Revelation II (Put Your Mind In Action)” are also great and totally convincing. Latter two tracks are a bit calmer indeed but also in this more silent moments, the band possesses power, too.


Apart from the appropriate artwork, the production convinces, too, which is, by the way, done by themselves and it has much power. This is a strong album by KEENANTS and it should find some fans. I hope it for them! (Online June 12, 2006)

Alexander Ehringer

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer