The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

1 tablature for Chrome Division

Chrome Division - Doomsday Rock 'N Roll (9/10) - Norway - 2006

Genre: Rock'n'Roll
Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Playing time: 46:03
Band homepage: Chrome Division


  1. Doomsday Overture
  2. Serial Killer >mp3
  3. Hate
  4. Trouble With The Law
  5. Chrome Division
  6. Here Comes Another One
  7. 1St Regiment
  8. Breathe Easy >mp3
  9. The Angel Falls >mp3
  10. Till The Break Of Dawn
  11. We Want More
  12. When The Shit Hit’s The Fan
Chrome Division - Doomsday Rock 'N Roll

You have read the news about this band on several different web sites. Even more importantly, we all learned that Shagrath from DIMMU BORGIR was going to be in here. He is going to take his six stringer and play dirty Rock ‘N’ Roll with absolutely zero traces of Black Metal. Now, you have my interest beyond belief. My mouth watered when I received this. I immediately flipped the back of the promo disc to see what the guys looked like and as figured it was all about the leather jackets, dark sunglasses and blue jeans. Hells bells yes!!!! Shaggy looks cool minus the gay panda bear makeup.


Nagash who was once involved with DIMMU started the project with his former partner in crime playing the drums, but due to commitments he had to bail and a replacement was found. The lead singer Eddie Guz is from THE CARBURATORS and he comes prepared with the long sideburns and short, but slicked back hair ready to throw down. The end result…paradise. Once we pass the “Doomsday Overture” which is a wasted intro, we dive head first into “Serial Killer” which simply flat out rocks like a mofo. The gritty, dirty and distorted guitars are packed with catchy riffs while the rhythm section of the drums pounding away and bass lines providing luscious licks keeps this thing grooving. And of course Eddie provides the whisky soaked voice that is reminiscent of Lemmy.


Listening to this, you would think that this was the newest track from MOTÖRHEAD, but no! This comes from Sweden and not England. God damn! I lapped this track up from start to finish and couldn’t wait to hear more. “Hate” continues to rock the house with its fast and quick licks. The solos thrown in there are bluesy, but pack a rapid one-two punch. The funny thing here is that while they are obviously influenced by the infamous three piece, they finally charter into their own territory and Mr. Guz has his own vocal identity. It’s still gruffy, but not a carbon copy of anyone. This disc simply delivers on all fronts.


This is just simple Rock that you can get down with the quickest of ease. No new ground is being broken here, but who cares, this is just about having fun. The boys really knocked this one out of the ball park. All I have to say is fire up your bike or your hot rod and run to your nearest bar/saloon and don’t forget to crank this up to 11 while you are on your way. Then, once you hit the local watering hole, force the bartender to put this in the jukebox and start a fight. (Online September 21, 2006)

Joe Florez

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer