The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Luca Turilli's Dreamquest - Lost Horizons (8/10) - Italy - 2006

Genre: Symphonic Metal
Label: Magic Circle Music
Playing time: 53:52
Band homepage: Luca Turilli's Dreamquest


  1. Introspection
  2. Virus
  3. Dreamquest
  4. Black Rose
  5. Lost Horizons
  6. Sospiro Divino
  7. Shades Of Eternity
  8. Energy
  9. Frozen Star
  10. Kyoto's Romance
  11. Too Late
  12. Dolphin's Heart
  13. Gothic Vision
Luca Turilli's Dreamquest - Lost Horizons

Luca Turilli tries to diversify. How else could one explain the existence of LUCA TURILLI’S DREAMQUEST, having already to fields to play on with RHAPSODY (or now RHAPSODY OF FIRE) and his solo project, but in this case he focuses only on keyboards and tries another musical direction, which almost scared me.


There have been rumors of electronic and techno influences together with symphonic elements, and he who knows my aversion to electronic and techno, will bear with me. The vocals are performed by a certain “Myst”, a female vocalist whose identity has not been revealed, but rumor has it that it could be Floor Janssen from AFTER FOREVER, yet another difference to Turilli’s other bands.


And in spite of all my fears I placed the CD into my player, and the opener “Virus” begins with Techno keyboards, -guitars and -drums, which left me expecting the worst, but then the introduction of the opera choir and a soprano as well which then leads to a genial chorus, wow, I wasn’t expecting that at all! After that the songs take the regular Symphonic Metal path, where the guitars stay more in the background as we are used with Turilli, but fit well into the context.


“Lost Horizons” is opened by the sound of a muezzin, very symphonic, very good, whereas “Sospiro Divino” is performed wholly in Italian and could well be a part of an opera as well. “Energy” convinces then with a really inspired vocal performance from “Myst”, and “Frozen Star” is symphonic, bombastic and simply very good, and in the meantime it really makes fun to listen to.


That the production is top-notch is not an issue, and the musical direction is, to my surprise, really good, even with the techno influences of a “Virus”, also due to the exceptional vocal performance from “Myst”. Even if you are in doubt as I was at the beginning, give this record a chance, you could be pleasantly surprised, just like me! (Online August 9, 2006)

Alexander Melzer

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer