The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

36 tablatures for As I Lay Dying

As I Lay Dying - A Long March: The First Recordings (-/10) - USA - 2006

Genre: Metalcore
Label: Metal Blade Records
Playing time: 1:08:08
Band homepage: As I Lay Dying


  1. Illusions
  2. The Beginning
  3. Reinvention
  4. The Pain Of Separation
  5. Forever
  6. Beneath The Encasing Of Ashes
  7. Torn Within
  8. Forced To Die
  9. A Breath In The Eyes Of Eternity
  10. Blood Turned To Tears
  11. The Voices That Betray Me
  12. When This World Fades
  13. A Long March
  14. Surrounded
  15. Refined By Your Embrace
  16. The Innocence Spilled
  17. Behind Me Lies Another Fallen Soldier
  18. Illusions
  19. The Beginning
  20. Reinvention
  21. The Pain Of Seperation
  22. Forever
  23. Untitled Track
As I Lay Dying - A Long March: The First Recordings

I once saw this band described as the “most brutal Christian Hardcore band”. If that statement doesn’t raise a few suspicions, then nothing would! I know I shouldn’t be so uptight in my views, but let’s face it – there’s a lot to hate about this band: they have the Metalcore sound nailed and they are Christian. I just don’t see how a band can try to project their values and beliefs onto the world through a medium (so-called Hardcore…) that preaches individualism over conformism. But they try anyway…


On to the music – what we have here is essentially a compilation of the band’s debut album (“Beneath The Encasing Of Ashes”) and their side of the split EP release with AMERICAN TRAGEDY, ands some other tracks. I don’t really know this band that well, but judging from these tracks I have come to the conclusion that maybe it isn’t all as bad as I had expected. The track “Beneath The Encasing Of Ashes” is a great song that starts off slowly with a very ethereal melody line before plunging into the band’s patented “Christian Metal/Hardcore” sound… it still sounds a little funny, but they do a commendable job – I even hear some faint traces of CRYPTOPSY in here somewhere. The tracks “Behind Me Lies Another Fallen Soldier” isn’t too band either. Like I said earlier this band plays a Hardcore/Metal hybrid style, so there’s nothing on here you haven’t heard before – screams, breakdowns, Thrashy parts and the like. The drummer is the key element here, as his speedy flourishes and little fills add a nice touch of progressiveness and intensity.


Overall this isn’t essential listening unless you’re a big fan of this band and can’t get your hands on this material (the aforementioned debut and split EP are both long out of print). These guys can keep on doing their thing – for now I have heard enough Xtian Hardcore to last me a lifetime… :( (Online October 19, 2006)

Neil Pretorius

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer