Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/metal-2/public_html/forum/common.php on line 106
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)

Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/metal-2/public_html/includes/includes.php on line 98
THE METAL OBSERVER - Review - CRADLE OF FILTH - Lovecraft And Witch Hearts

The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

196 tablatures for Cradle Of Filth

Cradle Of Filth - Lovecraft And Witch Hearts (9,5/10) - Great Britain - 2002

Genre: Black Metal
Label: Music For Nations
Playing time: 143:47
Band homepage: Cradle Of Filth


    Disc one:
  1. Creatures That Kissed In Cold Mirrors
  2. Dusk And Her Embrace
  3. Beneath The Howling Stars
  4. Her Ghost In The Fog
  5. Funeral In Carpathia (Be Quick Or Be Dead Mix)
  6. The Twisted Nails Of Faith
  7. From The Cradle To The Enslave
  8. Saffron's Curse
  9. Malice Through The Looking Glass
  10. Cruelty Brought The Orchids
  11. Lord Abortion
    Disc two:
  12. Once Upon Atrocity
  13. Thirteen Autumns And A Widow (Red October mix)
  14. For Those Who Died (Return To The Sabbat Mix)
  15. Sodomy And Lust
  16. Twisting Further Nails
  17. Amore E Morte (Lycanthroy Mix)
  18. Carmilla's Masque
  19. Lustmord And Wargasm (The Relicking Of Cadaverous Wounds)
  20. Dawn Of Eternity
  21. Of Dark Blood And Fucking (Stripped To The Bone Mix)
  22. Danse Macabre
  23. Hell Awaits
  24. Hallowed Be Thy Name
Cradle Of Filth - Lovecraft And Witch Hearts
Surely, this band needs no introduction and this is one group of misfits who have waited for ten years to pump out a greatest hits. This is how you properly put out a best of. You don't release one after only 3 albums like most bands are doing now a days.

CRADLE OF FILTH, who are perhaps the most outrageous, yet accomplished musicians give you 21 tracks and almost two and a half hours of shrieking and hellacious playing. The hits you see here are from the Music For Nations years which spanned for 5 years and released 3 full lengths and one EP. What you get here are the classics along with some remixed versions of your favourites and plenty o' covers that were released originally as limited editions to some of their CDs or Japanese imports.

You get the goods all here for a cheap price. Cover songs like MAIDEN's "Hallowed Be Thy Name" is reason enough to get this piece of work. They do such a bang up Goth-job on it. It's intense and adding the haunting keys and Dani's shrieking vokills make this a masterpiece. Another cover which comes to us in the form of "Hell Awaits" is so sinister that SLAYER would have a grin on their faces from ear to ear. CRADLE completely bastardise this song like no one else and is perhaps more evil than the original.

What is interesting is "Danse Macabre" which is a danceable/Techno-track. Filled with programmed drums that will shake your house layered with Dani's trademark voice. Many of the hardcore fans will probably frown on this track and consider this a waste but, surely they will not visit this route in the near future. That is just one of the three new songs offered on the disc. "For Those Who Died" and "Camilla's Masque" are the others. In order to make it worth while to buy this disc, you have to toss on some new tracks.

CRADLE-fans should drool for this release as this will be the last thing from the band until they strike up a new product with a new label. However, if you are someone that is still living under a rock and never heard this band, but read about them, this is a great introduction to CRADLE OF FILTH 101. One chapter of the bands career has ended and they are just beginning to warm up. Expect many more antics, controversy, schlock and over the top videos from this U.K. outfit. The best is just getting better. (Online July 30, 2002)

Joe Florez

2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer