The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

More information:
More about Týr

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

3 tablatures for Týr

Týr - Ragnarok (9/10) - Faroe Islands - 2006

Genre: Heavy Metal
Label: Napalm Records
Playing time: 60:45
Band homepage: Týr


  1. The Beginning
  2. The Hammer Of Thor
  3. Envy
  4. Brother’s Bane
  5. The Burning
  6. The Ride To Hel
  7. Torsteins Kvaedi
  8. Grímur Á Midalnesi
  9. Wings Of Time >mp3
  10. The Rage Of The Skullgaffer
  11. The Hunt
  12. Victory
  13. Lord Of Lies
  14. Gjallarhornid
  15. Ragnarok
  16. The End
Týr - Ragnarok

I have to admit that I'm not really familiar with Nordic mythology and there comes not much to my mind regarding the name Tyr. But there's one thing that I can remember since a few years: the Epic Metal band TYR from Faroese Islands, which I consider as one of the most individual and also most interesting acts of the current scene. Their two previous records "How Far To Asgard" and "Eric The Red" contain truly original Heavy Metal, they are very on their own and often they are labelled as "Viking Metal". This is correct concerning their lyrical themes as they deal with their ancestry and much mythology. But musically, the band has not that much to do with other so-called Viking Metal bands. There are no Black Metal shrieks, no highspeed blasting, no simple "Ohohoh"-choirs. TYR have a clear doomy direction and combine this with MANOWAR/BATHORY-epic and Folk! This sounds simple but it isn't because there's no other band sounding like TYR! Furthermore there's the band's preference for a progressive direction but they aren't too technical, they only like to have some complex song structures. Trademarks of the band are the very distinctive, clear vocal style of frontman Heri Joensen, the inventive guitar of Terji Skibenćs, the colourful drumming of Kári Streymoy and bass player Gunnar H. Thomsen serves for the perfect background.

"Ragnarok" is a concept album and contains a lot of powerful stuff. All their songs are detailed and inventive. Along with the great poduction, this album won't totally unfold it's magic at first but with some spins, you'll get another gem of this exceptional band. This one contains sixteen tracks, divided into altogether eight parts with always a short interlude of one or two minutes but the transitions are mainly fluid. My check out tips would be the superb "The Ride To Hel" or the fantastic instrumental "The Rage Of Skullgaffer", leading into my personal favourite "The Hunt". The limited first edition contains forthermore two bonus tracks.

(Online December 11, 2006)

Ralf Henn

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer