The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Stuck Mojo - Pigwalk + Violated (8/10) - USA - 1996/2006

Genre: Street Metal
Label: Century Media
Playing time: 71:50
Band homepage: Stuck Mojo


  1. Pigwalk
  2. Mental Meltdown
  3. (Here Comes) The Monster
  4. Twisted
  5. The Sermon
  6. Despise
  7. Animal
  8. Only The Strong Survive
  9. Violated
  10. Inside My Head
  11. Down Breeding
  12. Violated (Bonus Track)
  13. U.B. Otch (Bonus Track)
  14. Sweet Leaf (Bonus Track)
  15. Pizza Man
  16. Monster (Live)
  17. Hate Must Be A Gift (Demo Version)
  18. Wrathchild (Bonus Track)
  19. Shout At The Devil (Bonus Track)
  20. Pigwalk (Video)
Stuck Mojo - Pigwalk + Violated

Yet another Century media release, this time the highlight of STUCK MOJO’s career – “Pigwalk”. Just like the reissued version of “Snappin’ Necks”, this one comes with expanded liner notes, bonus tracks (the entire “Violated” EP in fact), and a multimedia section.


If you read my review of “Snappin’ Necks” then you know how I feel about this band – I don’t really like their rap Metal styled music very much but it is the perfect music for when you just feel like partying and letting loose. This motherfucker was originally released back in 1996 and has since come to be regarded as a modern Rap Metal classic. It is on here than Bonze’s Rap delivery actually works to enhance the music and the pummeling riffs of Rich Ward get so powerful that they could move the Swiss Guard. Drummer Brent Payne and bassist Dwayne Fowler also form quite the formidable rhythm section. I really can’t complain about any of the tracks on here – some are better than others but they are all pretty consistent and prime slices of Modern Metal. No, these guys don’t sound like KRISIUN, but they can get pretty heavy – something I’ve always appreciated about this band, since it distanced them from all the RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE and MACHINE HEAD wannabes.


Tracks like “Violated” and “Twisted” are the centerpieces of the album, punishing the listener with heavy riffs, infectious energy and very effective shouty choruses. OK, you have to be in a certain mood (and open-minded) to appreciate this Rap Metal hybrid but it is a good listen from beginning to end. Perfect party music I always say! The title track also slays, being pretty much like having raw aggression and pain mainlined straight into your brain.


This reissued version comes with 6 bonus tracks (comprising the entire “Violated” EP), demo versions of some songs, expanded liner notes, a video for the title track, as well as two covers (IRON MAIDEN’s “Wrathchild” and MÖTLEY CRÜE’s “Shout At The Devil”). Very comprehensive indeed.


Nothing more needs to be said. Even if you hurl at the thought of listening to Rap Metal, this album is essential. And always remember: the mind is like a parachute – it works best when open.

(Online January 4, 2007)

Neil Pretorius

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer