The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

27 tablatures for Destruction

Destruction - Thrash Anthems (8,5/10) - Germany - 2007

Genre: Thrash Metal
Label: AFM Records
Playing time: 72:40
Band homepage: Destruction


  1. Deposition (Your Heads Will Roll)
  2. Invincible Force
  3. Release From Agony
  4. Mad Butcher
  5. Sign Of Fear
  6. Death Trap
  7. Life Without Sense
  8. Total Desaster
  9. Bestial Invasion
  10. Reject Emotions
  11. Tormentor
  12. Unconscious Ruins
  13. Curse The Gods
  14. Cracked Brain
  15. Profanity
Destruction - Thrash Anthems

After ANTHRAX and TESTAMENT did that, DESTRUCTION also release an album full of re-recorded and better produced songs from the past. Not a bad idea, I think, as especially the first two albums sound anything but good. Sure, it was the time when Thrash Metal had just been born an the producers were over-challenged with these sounds, also you just grew up listening to this sound, some old fans will say.


As a Metal DJ, you can now play the DESTRUCTION classics without everything drowning in the muddy sound. This disc has a thick production, no doubt, but fortunately they didn’t commit the total bombast "Infernal Overkill". However, they did go somewhat over the top with some songs. The new version of “Mad Butcher” lacks a lot of the original feeling. In particular the bonus track “Eternal Ban” destroys the excellent harmonies of the original version. That’s a shame. Maybe a re-mastered edition of the first albums, which was done successfully by KREATOR and CELTIC FROST, would have been more than sufficient.


Whatever, of course you should own this effort anyway, especially since there are two new tracks on it in “Profanity” and “Deposition (Your Heads Will Roll)” which fit in perfectly. Plus “Cracked Brain”, which was sung by Schmier, is a real surprise. A worthy purchase for Thrashers.

(Online March 25, 2007)

Falk Kollmannsperger

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer