The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

53 tablatures for King Diamond

King Diamond - House Of God (8,5/10) - Denmark - 2000

Genre: Heavy Metal
Label: Massacre Records
Playing time: 51:12
Band homepage: King Diamond


  1. Upon The Cross
  2. The Trees Have Eyes
  3. Follow The Wolf
  4. House Of God
  5. Black Devil
  6. The Pact
  7. Goodbye
  8. Just A Shadow
  9. Help!!!
  10. Passage To Hell
  11. Catacomb
  12. This Place Is Terrible
  13. Peace Of Mind
King Diamond - House Of God
The king is back and again he doesn't disappoint his subjects. As usual "House Of God" is a concept-album, which is built upon a creepy story, which takes on philosophical matters this time.

When you look at the music, then it becomes obvious fairly quickly that King and Mike Wead have listened to albums like "Abigail" and "Them" again, while King's vocals haven't been this variable in quite some time (with KING DIAMOND). Apart from his typical falsetto and the high screams we also get to hear his normal deeper voice, which adds even more depth and variability to the compositions.

Musically the album is one continuous flow, but without falling into uniformity of the songs. Take "The Trees Have Eyes" or "House Of God", which builds up a highly interesting atmosphere, take "Black Devil", which bases on a really simple, but even more effective riff or the very urgent "Help!!!", they all show you the different aspects to the story as well.

As the last albums had really not been bad, but just not outstanding, "House Of God" manages to continue the line of the classics of the early days almost seamlessly.

Alexander Melzer

2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer