The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Folkearth - Drakkars In The Mist (7,5/10) - Sweden - 2007

Genre: Folk Metal
Label: Stygian Crypt
Playing time: 67:37
Band homepage: Folkearth


  1. Before Battle I Embrace
  2. Hoplites Awaiting Command
  3. Hugin & Munin
  4. Griminsmol (The Ballad Of Grimnir)
  5. Högtid
  6. Sworn To The Raven
  7. Great God Pan
  8. Drakkars In The Mist
  9. Midgard Farewell
  10. De Tause Fjell
  11. If I Should Fall
  12. When Long Ships Arrive
  13. On Wings Divine
  14. Thunders Of War
  15. The Bane Of Giants (Bonus Track)
  16. Kingdom Of The Shades (Bonus Track)
  17. The Riding Of The Queen Boudiccea (Bonus Track)
Folkearth - Drakkars In The Mist

FOLKEARTH are a very widespread bunch of Folk and Metal musicians, which live out their passion here. On their current, third album we get 30 musicians from 11 countries. And who automatically thinks of HAGGARD and THERION, definitely is not far off.


Somehow the name had a certain appeal and the music is really good, even though I had expected something different, because for my taste the Folk elements are far too strong. A song such as “Hugin & Munin“ with its really strong guitars is rather the exception. What should I talk much more, I had expected it to be a lot heavier, even though the songs are very well done. The instrumentation, the melodies and the structures of the songs show that these are true masters at work. The stylistic formulas used are anything but original, but FOLKEARTH have a lucky hand for good songs that are catchy and will not wear off that easily. Okay, as far as heaviness goes, I had rather expected something like “Falland Vörandi“ (HEL), but that is my problem.


Alright, the album is great for nice cuddly evenings with your Viking bride, even though there are some harsher sounds here and there.

(Online June 21, 2008)

Falk Kollmannsperger

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer