The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

9 tablatures for Virgin Steele

Virgin Steele - Guardians Of The Flame (7,5/10) - USA - 1984/2002

Genre: US-Metal
Label: T&T
Playing time: 67:15
Band homepage: Virgin Steele


  1. Don't Say Goodbye (Tonight)
  2. Burn The Sun
  3. Life Of Crime
  4. The Redeemer
  5. Birth Through Fire
  6. Guardians Of The Flame
  7. Metal City
  8. Hell Or High Water
  9. Go All The Way
  10. A Cry In The Night
  11. I Am The One
  12. Go Down Fighting
  13. Wait For The Night
  14. Interview
  15. Blues Deluxe Oreganata (I Might Drown)
Virgin Steele - Guardians Of The Flame
Together with "I", also their second 1984-effort "Guardians Of The Flame" sees a re-release with four bonus-tracks and an interview with mastermind David DeFeis.

Even though the album had been recorded only a few months after "I", we see improvements in almost every department, with the sound being a lot better and the compositions also having matured quite a bit, sounding a lot more diversified and incorporating the keyboards a lot better than before.

A few songs already can be counted among VIRGIN STEELE-classics, first and foremost "The Redeemer", which already heralded the coming of the immortal masterpieces to follow, showing the dramatic and bombastic arrangements that would make the name of VIRGIN STEELE one of the biggest ones in the sub-genre. Basically it still is US-Metal in the typical style of the 80s, plus the keyboards, of course, and David's trademark voice that still is higher than most, but a lot more controlled than on the predecessor. The major downpoint again is Jack Starr's sometimes overblown guitar-wizardry that just won't fit into my ears…

Among the bonus-tracks we get a special treat in form of a live-rendition of "Blues Deluxe Oreganata", showing VIRGIN STEELEdo the Blues, you won't want to miss this, folks!

As written for "I", this album had been unavailable for so many years, being released 18 years ago. This is the first album, where VIRGIN STEELE were going into the direction we all know nowadays, so this is not a milestone of the genre yet, but a definitive move towards the upcoming "Age Of Consent" and "Noble Savage", which basically every VIRGIN STEELE-fan should at least have heard! (Online November 14, 2002)

Alexander Melzer

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer