The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Omen - The Curse (10/10) - USA - 1986/1996

Genre: US-Metal
Label: Metal Blade Records
Playing time: 65:54
Band homepage: Omen


  1. The Curse
  2. Kill On Sight
  3. Holy Martyr
  4. Eye Of The Storm
  5. S.R.B.
  6. Teeth Of The Hydra
  7. At All Cost
  8. Destiny
  9. Bounty Hunter
  10. The Larch
  11. Nightmares
  12. Shock Treatment
  13. Dragon's Breath
  14. Termination
  15. Bounty Hunter
  16. Whole Lotta Rosie (Live)
Omen - The Curse
Another god given present of the American Power Metal of the Eighties is the third album "The Curse" (1986) by OMEN. Bandhead Kenny Powell formerly had played with SAVAGE GRACE, which also can be filed under "absolute cult". Most outstanding feature of OMEN, besides Powell's intricate guitar-play, definitively is the heroic deep vocals of J.D. Kimball, booze-destroyer extraordinaire.

The description "MAIDEN on speed" had made its way through the magazines, what is not all that wrong. The axes really had these typical twin-harmonies a la Dave Murray/Adrian Smith, of course played a lot faster. Every song of this album is a gemstone of Metal-art, simply perfect songs for eternity! But you could say the same for all songs of "Battle Cry" "Warning Of Danger", because the two previous albums also are finest steel! I personally like "The Curse" best, because here the songs sound a tad bit more mature!

That OMEN have reformed should be known to all, just the resulting reunion-album "Re-Opening The Gates" was for the ass. The Germany-trip with FATES WARNING allegedly was not bad gig wise, though…Curiously Kenny's son took over the vocals, but those were not the problem on that album, but the weak song-writing. Soon the next album is to be released, with a new singer, which allegedly should be more back to the roots…we'll await with anticipation!

As a bonus we even get the six tracks of the "Nightmares"-EP! (Online December 10, 2002)

Ralf Henn

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer