The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Lillian Axe - Live 2002 (7,5/10) - USA - 2002

Genre: Melodic Metal
Label: Red And Gold International
Playing time: 106:14
Band homepage: Lillian Axe


    Disc One:
  1. Misery Loves Company
  2. All's Fair In Love And War
  3. Innocence
  4. The World Stopped Turning
  5. Letters In The Rain
  6. Waiting In The Dark
  7. Deepfreeze
  8. Pullin' The Rats Out
  9. Ghost Of Winter
  10. Fool's Paradise
    Disc Two:
  1. Crucified
  2. Nobody Knows
  3. Sign Of The Times
  4. Mercy
  5. Show A Little Love
  6. Voices In My Walls
  7. The Day I Met You
  8. Those Who Prey
  9. Dream Of A Lifetime
  10. Become A Monster
  11. True Believer
Lillian Axe - Live 2002
Back in the 80's when this Glam band was around, I never thought about giving them a chance due to the fact that their music was weak in my eyes because all I listened to was SLAYER and their hair was teased to the moon. Now that I am more open minded, I listened and enjoyed it. This has to be one underrated band.

I think a lot of it has to do with their 80's eyeliner and make up. Steve Blaze's guitar work is just awesome. Say what you will about this band leaving the music scene in the 90's, but they didn't leave because of the Seattle scene. Well, after 7 years of hibernation, they are back with their first live CD recorded earlier this year. LILLIAN AXE enjoyed success on MTV with their hits "Dream Of A Lifetime" and their cover of BADFINGER's "No Matter What". This live disc covers the span of their four albums and some of the unreleased as well. They seem to be in rare form here and come charging at your ears with infectious riffs and melodies that the fans have come to love.

"Misery Loves Company", "Crucified", and "Innocence" are electrically charged tunes that will have you singing along. While "No Matter What" doesn't make the cut here, "Dream Of A Lifetime" and "True Believer" just to name a few classics are all here for you to enjoy. LILLIAN AXE's brand of Glam Rock has never sounded better and a nice revival in this scene would not be too far fetched.

These are some gifted musicians that deserve a second chance or if you just want to relive those days of leather and studs, then you have come to the right place. Now the $64,000 question is...will this band record new material? Only time will tell. (Online December 19, 2002)

Joe Florez

2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer