The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

1 tablature for Artillery

Artillery - Terror Squad/Fear Of Tomorrow (9/10) - Denmark - 1990

Genre: Thrash Metal
Label: Roadracer
Playing time: 74:19
Band homepage: -


  1. The Challenge
  2. In The Trash
  3. Terror Squad
  4. Let There Be Sin
  5. Hunger And Greed
  6. Therapy
  7. At War With Science
  8. Decapitation Of Deviants
  9. Time Has Come
  10. The Almighty
  11. Show Your Hate
  12. Out Of The Sky
  13. Into The Universe
  14. The Eternal War
  15. Deeds Of Darkness
Artillery - Terror Squad/Fear Of Tomorrow
The heaviest and best Danish Metal band have been and, next to MERCYFUL FATE/KING DIAMOND, will also be the Thrashers of ARTILLERY. Four albums, plus a demo compilation, each for itself a skullsplitter in front of the Metalgod are speaking their own language.

On their first two albums, which I have here, especially reigns the variety. Simple songs ala "Tormentor" (KREATOR), "Outbreak Of Evil" (SODOM), "Welcome To The Slaughterhouse" (DARK ANGEL), won't be found here, no, fast, quite breaky songs dominate the sound. But still accessible enough to bang your head off.

Similar to EXODUS' "Bonded By Blood" ARTILLERY know how to balance the scales between demand, speed, brutality and aggression. Whereas the 87 release "Terror Squad" is a bit more complex than the 85 debut "Fear Of Tomorrow". Songs like z.B. "The Almighty", "In The Trash", "Deeds Of Darkness", "The Challenge", are among the best that Thrash Metal has to offer.

And when singer Flemming Ronsdorf, who once had been in the talks for a succession of Schmier at DESTRUCTION, roars into the mic, the biggest icebergs shatter into small cubes, fit for every long drink.

Because of the limited playing time this CD lacks the title song of "Fear Of Tomorrow" and the hymn" "King Thy Name Is Slayer".

So better go for the re-releases by Axe Killer Records. (Online December 22, 2002)

Falk Kollmannsperger

2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer