The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Sixty Watt Shaman - Reason To Live (8,5/10) - USA - 2002

Genre: Rock
Label: Spitfire
Playing time: 70:22
Band homepage: Sixty Watt Shaman


  1. Nomad
  2. Reason To Live
  3. Blind By Morning
  4. Horse You Rode In On
  5. Our Name Is War
  6. The Mill Wheel
  7. Long Hard Road
  8. The Evil Behavior Of Ordinary People
  9. My Ruin
  10. Breathe Again
  11. One Good Leg
  12. All My Love
  13. Distance
  14. When The Morning Comes
  15. When I'm Alone
  16. All Things Come To Pass
Sixty Watt Shaman - Reason To Live
After expanded tours with sounding names like CORROSION OF CONFORMITY, CROWBAR, CLUTCH or SERRATE WYLDE'S BLACK LABEL SOCIETY the SIXTY WATT SHAMAN from Baltimore/Maryland now finally release their following album after "Seed Of Decades" and show the rocking guild, what's going on. With Scott Reeder as a producer, who was already allowed to mistreat the bass with KYUSS and UNIDA, they entrenched themselves in the studio and perpetuated those altogether 16 new tracks on a record.

That this didn't end up in a halfway-thing, should be clear to each halfway interested Rock-fan. If you expect some large parallels with the gifted and unforgettable KYUSS, I should recommend a test-run before you rush into the stores to buy this album. There are some similarities indeed, but the priorities are quite different with SIXTY WATT SHAMAN. Their music is pretty influenced by Blues and Southern Rock of the Sixties and Seventies. To all those ingredients they add a big shot of Heavy Metal and a fine dose of Punk. Besides all those listed influences SIXTY WATT SHAMAN are doing one thing quite properly, rocking until you drop.

This circumstance certainly also has to do with the fact that they already played a part of the songs of "Reasons To Live" on the preceding tours and with that managed to catch the energy of the live appearances pretty well and conserved them with skills. Apart from the musical imaginativeness of Joe Selby (guitars), Rev. James Robert Forrester (bass) and Pete Campbell (drums) it is above all the vocalist Daniel Kerzwick with his scratchy voice that offers a long pleasure of listening. In contrast to many other bands of this genre SIXTY WATT SHAMAN sounds authentically and recognizable in addition and stand out thereby of many copied Rock quotations and average cloned bands.

The four Americans released an extremely recommendable album with "Reason To Live" and should by this achievement soon be more popular. Finally it has a first-class arranged cover artwork which makes this album hardly indispensable for every Rock fan. (Online March 10, 2003)

Alexander Ehringer

2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer