The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

3 tablatures for Nasum

Nasum - Inhale/Exhale (9,5/10) - Sweden - 1998

Genre: Grindcore
Label: Relapse Records
Playing time: 45:12
Band homepage: Nasum


  1. This Is...
  2. The Masked Face
  3. Digging In
  4. Time To Act
  5. Disdain And Contempt
  6. I See Lies
  7. Inhale/Exhale
  8. Too Naked To Distort
  9. There's No Escape
  10. The Rest Is Over
  11. Disappointed
  12. Lägg Om !
  13. You're Obsolete
  14. Tested
  15. Shapeshifter
  16. Feed Them, Kill Them, Skin Them
  17. When Science Fails
  18. Closing In
  19. The World That You Made
  20. The System Has Failed Again
  21. For What Cause?
  22. Fullmated
  23. Screwed
  24. Shaping The End
  25. The New Firing-Squad
  26. No Sign Of Improvement
  27. My Philosophy
  28. I'm Not Silent
  29. The Breathing Furnace
  30. Information Is Free
  31. Burning Inside
  32. A Request For Guidance
  33. Grey
  34. Worldcraft
  35. It's Never Too Late
  36. Du Är Bevakad
  37. Blinded
  38. Can De Lach
Nasum - Inhale/Exhale
"Inhale/Exhale" is the best Grindcore release I have ever heard, and for those of you who enjoy the workings of early NAPALM DEATH or the mighty TERRORIZER this is the release that surpasses the likes of "Scum" and "World Downfall", this is the release that in actual fact wipes the floor with them.

In "Inhale/Exhale" NASUM have surprisingly created a masterwork of an album by not allowing it to suffer from the two most complained about Grindcore faults (which are 1: Sheer noise where you can't make anything out. And 2: Too repetitive.) by making the guitars the more dominant instrument (yet keeping the phenomenal lightspeed drumwork) and utilising some more groove orientated riffs to really get your head banging.

Each track is noticeably different from the rest, which in itself is an amazing feat for ANY Grindcore band, keeping the album fresh and enjoyable for its entire listen. The songs themselves are well written and the dual vocals are fantastic and all this is cased in a top class production (with a little assistance from the great Dan Swano) to give us Metalheads what is and probably forever will be the greatest release in the history of Grindcore.

Ultrafast tempos, great drumwork, catchy mosh friendly riffs, fantastic vocal work. What else is there to say?


Niall Kennedy

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer