Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/metal-2/public_html/forum/common.php on line 106
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)

Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/metal-2/public_html/includes/includes.php on line 98
THE METAL OBSERVER - Review - JUDAS PRIEST - Screaming For Vengeance

The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

96 tablatures for Judas Priest

Judas Priest - Screaming For Vengeance (10/10) - Great Britain - 1982/2001

Genre: Heavy Metal
Label: Sony Music
Playing time: 51:10
Band homepage: Judas Priest


  1. The Hellion
  2. Electric Eye
  3. Riding On The Wind
  4. Bloodstone
  5. (Take These) Chains
  6. Pain And Pleasure
  7. Screaming For Vegance
  8. You've Got Another Thing Comin'
  9. Fever
  10. Devil's Child
  11. Prisoner Of Your Eyes
  12. Devil's Child (Live)
Judas Priest - Screaming For Vengeance
With "Screaming For Vengeance", JUDAS PRIEST proved again, that they were the Kings of Metal. It's likely the most important Metal record that time, together with ACCEPT's "Restless And Wild", SAXON's "Strong Arm Of The Law" and IRON MAIDEN's "The Number Of The Beast".

This fabulous masterpiece is opened by "Electric Eye". A really majestetical bandclassic, which is introduced by "The Hellion". By the way, this steely eagle is also to find on the cover! So, who asks for, where PRIMAL FEAR have stolen it... And I don't only speak of the cover! Hehehe. It continues with the whipping "Riding On The Wind" with its well-done special effects. Headbanger stuff at its best. With "Bloodstone" follows a rather melodic Hardrock song, which is also a killer. A superb structure, a great chrous - Halford had been the Metal God, no doubt...

"(Take These) Chains" is also pretty commercial but still a great song and an earcandy. "Pain And Pleasure" is the only song, which is a bit below the others, but still "good". Then follows the titletrack! A rapid speedsong, which seems to be slow for today's circumstances, but in 1982 this song was a kind of "Painkiller". Rob shows all his abilities and screams his soul out! "You've Got Another Thing Coming" is the next bandclassic, with its pumping bass guitar and this frenzy melody! "Fever" is a half ballad, where the vocals bring you some nice goose flesh. One of my absolute PRIEST-faves and I'm still wondering, why the band have never played it live? Divinely! With "Devil's Child" is this record worthily closed, an album which made history. It belongs to the classics of JUDAS PRIEST and actually, it's unabdicable for every decent Metal collection. Of course, fans of modern music won't deal with the elder PRIEST works, but they also won't read this review...

As bonus you get a rare live version of "Devil's Child", recorded at the "World Vengeance" show in 1982 as well as an unreleased track called "Prisoner Of Your Eyes" of 1985. This song is a halfballad, which is so pretty strong, that you will ask yourself, why this song had never been on a regular album. An absolute highlight! (Online June 15, 2003)

Ralf Henn

2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer