Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/metal-2/public_html/forum/common.php on line 106
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)

Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/metal-2/public_html/includes/includes.php on line 98
THE METAL OBSERVER - Review - TRACEELORDS, THE - Sex, Money, Rock'n'Roll!

The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Traceelords, The - Sex, Money, Rock'n'Roll! (9/10) - Germany - 2001

Genre: Heavy Metal
Label: Massacre Records
Playing time: 40:39
Band homepage: Traceelords, The


  1. Sex, Money, Rock'n'Roll!
  2. F**kin' Grow Up
  3. Feel Like Charlie Brown
  4. See You When I See You
  5. Daddy Cool
  6. Start It With A Kiss, Stop It With A Gun
  7. You're My Baby
  8. Bad News Mum
  9. My Kinda Girl
  10. She's 24
  11. All I Really Need
  12. Lucky Bastard Land
  13. Born To Be Alive
Traceelords, The - Sex, Money, Rock'n'Roll!

Strange name, strange cover, equals strange music? No, strange this is not, but good, really good! Andy Brings, formerly guitarist with SODOM has unleashed an album that is just perfect for this high-summer-weather, it's got catchiness, verve and crunch!

It's most probably the most Metallic Rock'n'Roll that German ever has spawned, shredding guitars, relaxed atmosphere, very catchy melodies and rhythms, you'll get everything you need for an open-air-party (or a drive in your car with the windows or the roof open). You'll find the crunch of Metal just as well as the snottiness of Rock'n'Roll, combined in a way that just spells pure fun.

The guys from Hagen vary heaviness and tempo so to always provide enough dynamics and power, crunching, straight-forward up-tempo-tracks like the titletrack, "F**kin' Grow Up" and "She's 24" are replaced by relaxed and at the same time crispy-straight Rockers and Rollers like "Feel Like Charlie Brown" and "Bad News Mum" or even the balladesque "See You When I See You", where you'll even get a very nicely integrated saxophone.

But that's not everything yet, because there also are two cover-versions. What is so special about that, every second band has at least one of them in their baggage, you say? Well, that may very well be right, but only very few have such great stuff as THE TRACEELORDS. As bonus-track we have the Patrick Hernandez-classic "Born To Be Alive" and the ultimate tribute to the Seventies-Dancefloor: "Daddy Cool" by BONEY M.! Especially the latter shows that even they back then had played Rock, just nobody realised it yet, the guitars are perfectly suiting the simple rhythm and the "lyrics" can be flawlessly bawled along with two pars pro mille, great!

The production is very good, too, the guys really master their instruments (what you cannot complain about with all similar acts), Andy Brings really can sing (another thing that's not the case everywhere), so what still stands between you and buying this CD? Nothing! Exactly!

Alexander Melzer

2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer