The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Mystic Prophecy - Regressus (10/10) - Germany - 2003

Genre: Power Metal
Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Playing time: 61:49
Band homepage: Mystic Prophecy


  1. Calling From Hell
  2. Eternal Flame
  3. Lords Of Pain
  4. Sign Of The Cross
  5. Night Of The Storm
  6. The Traveller (Instrumental)
  7. In Your Sins
  8. Forgotten Soul
  9. When Demons Return
  10. Regressus = Lost In Time
  11. Mystic Prophecy
  12. The Land Of The Dead
  13. Fighting The World (Bonus Track)
  14. Sanctuary (Bonus Track)
Mystic Prophecy - Regressus
MYSTIC PROPHECY consisting of singer R. D. Liapakis (VALLEY'S EVE), drummer Dennis Ekdahl (RAISE HELL), basser Martin Albrecht (VALLEY'S EVE, STORMWITCH) and on the axe "jack-of-all-trades" Gus G. (DREAM EVIL, NIGHTRAGE, FIREWIND), could be called an all star band for sure. Just this extremely talented bunch does not see itself as a mere project. The second long player has been finished and nails almost everything against the wall that has been called Power Metal in the past few months!

Here everything fits, superb, slightly rough power vocals by "Lia", brilliant guitar leads and solos, gripping choruses/melodies, ass tight interplay, great rhythm section (drums & bass) and most of all power without end. This way great tracks as "Calling From Hell", "Eternal Flame" or especially "In Your Sins" are shot out as easy as a morning walk. Full of killer riffs of "music whore" Gus G., who delivers the goods everywhere.

With MYSTIC PROPHECY he can pay tribute to this Power vein, which the good guy does generously. These great riffs will drive me insane. You should bless Gus as holiness for this! Hopefully he will also tour with the band! I at least am absolutely enthused by "Regressus", because despite the long playing time there is only killers, no fillers!!! But 11 points, hehehehe! (Nice try, Ralf, hehe - Alex)

Try to get the first edition as limited DigiPak, because there you will get even two cool cover tunes. For one "Sanctuary" by IRON MAIDEN and, hold tight, "Fighting The World" by MANOWAR, the biggest pop band of the Metal scene! (Online July 10, 2003)

Ralf Henn

2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer