The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

196 tablatures for Cradle Of Filth

Cradle Of Filth - Live Bait For The Dead (10/10) - Great Britain - 2002

Genre: Black Metal
Label: AbraCadaver
Playing time: 75:00/44:52
Band homepage: Cradle Of Filth


    CD 1:
  1. Intro - The Ceremony Opens
  2. Lord Abortion
  3. Ebony Dressed For Sunset
  4. The Forest Whispers My Name
  5. Cthulhu Dawn
  6. Dusk And Her Embrace
  7. The Principal Of Evil Made Flesh
  8. Cruelty Brought Thee Orchids
  9. Her Ghost In The Fog
  10. Summer Dying Fast
  11. Interlude - Creatures That Kissed In Cold Mirrors
  12. From The Cradle To Enslave
  13. Queen Of Winter, Throned
    CD 2:
  1. Born In A Burial Gown (The Polished Coffin Mix)
  2. No Time To Cry (Sisters Of No Mercy Mix)
  3. Funeral In Carpathia (Sound Check Recording)
  4. Deleted Scenes Of A Snuff Princess
  5. Scorched Earth Erotica (Original Demo(n) Version)
  6. Nocturnal Supremacy (Sound Check Recording)
  7. From The Cradle To Enslave (Under Martian Rule Mix)
  8. The Fire Still Burns
Cradle Of Filth - Live Bait For The Dead
CRADLE OF FILTH have always been one of the many bands that I have longed to see live. Sadly, seeing how I live in Arkansas, my chances of seeing them perform here are slim to none. However, on the 16th of August, my Metal ass will be in Montreal QC, loving the hell out of my first CRADLE OF FILTH show. Oh yes, the blonde hair will fly, and it's all thanks to Mark. What better place to be for any Metal show? There, I can be comfortable around people like myself, instead of having to worry about Billy Bob, or Sue Ellen Joe accidentally spilling their moonshine all over me. Then again, what would they be doing at a metal show in the first place? Sadly, if good shows were to actually come here, that's what the turn out would be like. I'd probably be the only real Metalhead in the building. I can't say I'd have any real fun amidst all of the rednecks and posers in the building. Ahh yes, that's Arkansas for you.

I was extremely happy when I heard CRADLE OF FILTH would be releasing a live album, and the one thing on my mind was, "It's about f'in time!"

I had high hopes for it, being that everything they have released to date is just simply incredible.

After seeing the track list for "Live Bait For The Dead" I became even more anxious for the album to be released. The only let down I had, was that there were only 2 tracks from "Dusk…And Her Embrace". That was the best of all of their albums in my opinion. "Malice Through The Looking Glass" and "Beauty Slept In Sodom" would have made two excellent additions. At least there's "Funeral In Carpathia". I guess I can just be thankful for that!

Disc 1 contains live material recorded in Rock City, Nottingham on April 14th, 2001. There's no doubt that CRADLE OF FILTH have mastered the art of turning their disc material into complete live perfection. Dani's brutal blasphemies are just as compelling in a live setting as they are on their studio recorded albums. He has to have one of the most amazing vocal ranges of any man I've ever heard. No people, I'm not swooning like the millions of other women who adore him, it's simply a compliment on his vocal abilities.

Disc 2 is a collection of remixes, sound check recordings and original demo versions. Listening to some of the remixes I noticed only a few minor changes to the finished version of the specific song. "Deleted Scenes Of A Snuff Princess" is a track for all the male CRADLE OF FILTH fans out there. Give it a listen, you'll catch the joke sooner or later. "From The Cradle To Enslave (Under Martian Rule Mix)" is possibly one of the best remixes of a song I have ever heard. I'm not a big fan of remixes originally, but this one got to me. "The Fire Still Burns" makes for a fantastic end to "Live Bait For The Dead". It couldn't have been done any better.

This album deserves nothing less than a 10. The only way I'll be convinced that they could perform any better live, is if they out do themselves while I'm standing in front of them. (Online August 19, 2003)

Jennifer Richards

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer