The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

1 tablature for Luciferion

Luciferion - The Apostate (10/10) - Sweden - 2003

Genre: Death Metal
Label: Listenable Records
Playing time: 58:25
Band homepage: Luciferion


  1. Intro
  2. The Apostate
  3. Under The Eyes Of Serpents
  4. Transcendental Fusion
  5. Gods Bring You Away From Yourself
  6. A Strain From Depths
  7. The Force Dwells Within
  8. And All The Waste Will Fade
  9. Become Or Be Gone
  10. Destroying By Will >mp3
  11. New World To See
  12. Circle Of The Tyrants (Celtic Frost Cover)
  13. The Demon Of 1994
  14. Rebel Souls
  15. The Voyager
  16. Satan's Gift (The Crown Of Thorns)
  17. Graced By Fire
  18. Hymns Of Immortals
Luciferion - The Apostate
2003 seems to be the year of glorious returns, at least in Death Metal. After the furious "Banquet In The Darkness" CD of INTESTINE BAALISM now also Swedish LUCIFERION have resurfaced. After substantial 7 years the ambassadors of the horned one are back. And in their hand luggage they bring the ultimate destroyer with them. It would be a stroke of terrible bad luck, if there would be an even stronger album in the lightly technical Death Metal than "The Apostate".

Like on their debut album the band is wandering the spheres of a "Blessed Are The Sick", but without sucking the last drop of blood from MORBID ANGEL. The new compositions only have added a lot more speed, apart from that everything has stayed the same. Technically flawless, not too complex songs, which are put into a different dimension by the dark, spacey synthesizer sounds. The unusual guitar melodies do their part as well. The title song alone, an epos divided into 6 parts, is a masterpiece of extreme soundworks. Here the band pulls out all stops of their almighty abilities, pure insanity! Or "New World To See", CELTIC FROST could not have done it any more varied, morbid and better!! Speaking of CELTIC FROST: Their classic "Circle Of The Tyrants" gets a completely new meaning by the adaptation of the Swedes. LUCIFERION burn the song down to its foundations and from the ashes a true phoenix is rising that in no way has to hide behind the original!!!

And for those, who didn't know the band so far, 5 old tracks in their 94 demo versions are also included as bonus. With this CD latest LUCIFERION have deserved their honourable place among the big names of the scene like e.g. ATHEIST, DEATH or the above mentioned. (Online August 22, 2003)

Falk Kollmannsperger

2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer