The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

88 tablatures for Morbid Angel

Morbid Angel - Heretic (7/10) - USA - 2003

Genre: Death Metal
Label: Earache
Playing time: 53:12
Band homepage: Morbid Angel


  1. Cleansed In Pestilence (Blade Of Elohim)
  2. Enshrined By Grace
  3. Beneath The Hollow
  4. Curse The Flesh
  5. Praise The Strength
  6. Stricken Arise
  7. Place Of Many Deaths
  8. Abyssous
  9. God Of Our Own Divinity
  10. Within Thy Enemy
  11. Memories Of The Past
  12. Victorious March Of Rain The Conqueror
  13. Drum Check
  14. Born Again
Morbid Angel - Heretic
The release of a MORBID ANGEL album is always something important, because the quality is there most of the time, and most of all because it's quite a rare event. So, after having lamented yourself on the ugliness of the artwork, wrap out "Heretic" and get your ears ready. The first thirty minutes will not disappoint the amateurs of Trey and his two mates, with six tracks of top quality, a bit in the "Covenant" style, but with a huge sound. And you'll especially note the terrific "Stricken Arise" and its voice different than on the rest of the album, making that track closer to DIABOLIC than to MORBID ANGEL themselves.

At this point, this is pure fucking madness… but too bad the end of the album, which is six out of the last eight tracks, are so uninteresting. Apart from two brutal Death Metal tracks, we can then have here average ambient tracks, almost ridiculous at some points. And in the middle of that you'll find a drum solo track, that proves that Pete Sandoval is the best Death Metal drummer ever, but that has not its place here. "Heretic" could have been one of the best MORBID ANGEL albums, but the condition for that would have been to get rid of those six useless and wrongly integrated tracks… (Online September 3, 2003)

Thomas Bonnicel

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer