The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

88 tablatures for Morbid Angel

Morbid Angel - Heretic (10/10) - USA - 2003

Genre: Death Metal
Label: Earache
Playing time: 53:12
Band homepage: Morbid Angel


  1. Cleansed In Pestilence (Blade Of Elohim)
  2. Enshrined By Grace
  3. Beneath The Hollow
  4. Curse The Flesh
  5. Praise The Strength
  6. Stricken Arise
  7. Place Of Many Deaths
  8. Abyssous
  9. God Of Our Own Divinity
  10. Within Thy Enemy
  11. Memories Of The Past
  12. Victorious March Of Rain The Conqueror
  13. Drum Check
  14. Born Again
Morbid Angel - Heretic
How someone can be so uncompromisingly brutal and still melodic, is the question one has to ask oneself when it comes to MORBID ANGEL. "Heretic" means anyone who does not conform with an established attitude, doctrine or principle, a description that fits well with the concept of MORBID ANGEL.

MORBID ANGEL is one of the most successful Death Metal bands of all times. They are probably one of the most successful ones commercially, and by far the most successful musically, if you ask me. The band's got eight full albums under their belt so far, and we can only hope that they will continue to Death Metal us every other year or so. (They still have 16 letters to go, so we should be good for a while ;) - Alex)

It took me a while to fully understand MORBID ANGEL. To see the forest for all the trees, if you will. But the moment I saw the light, or more fittingly the dark in this context, I knew that I was hooked for life. Even if the band has impressed me greatly on past albums, I actually think "Heretic" is some of their finest work to date. At least I think it's one of their most complete albums. The sound is perfectly balanced, the guitars are beautifully arranged in a sick, extreme way, and the melodies are eminent if you just know where to look for them.

If you dare to slip this album into your CD player, be prepared to be musically mutilated from the opening chords of "Cleansed In Pestilence (Blade Of Elohim)" to the dying sounds of "Born Again". "Drum Check" and "Born Again" are however the only songs that the band could have skipped from the album. Endless drum soloing and guitar wanking really should be below MORBID ANGEL.

Since MORBID ANGEL are strangers neither to furious sound attacks, strange arrangements or beautiful, melodic parts, don't bother if you're really not going to listen. You have to focus all your attention if you are going to enjoy this to its fullest. (Online September 7, 2003)

Guest review by Thomas Hansen

2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer