The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Dave Brockie Experience - Songs For The Wrong (5/10) - USA - 2003

Genre: Metal
Label: Metal Blade Records
Playing time: 41:39
Band homepage: Dave Brockie Experience


  1. Damn That Monkey
  2. Slowpoke
  3. Should The Ugly Girl Blow Me?
  4. The Chinese Have No Cheese
  5. Music Is Like Beer
  6. Hard For A 'Tard
  7. I Wanna Be A Squirrel
  8. Shatilla
  9. He's Gone Crazy!
  10. Make Money Off Your Friends
  11. Dog Log
  12. Slips Of Paper
  13. March Of The Faggot Soldiers
  14. Hey Buddy
  15. Medieval Werewolf
  16. Churchmouse On The Snow
  17. Isn't It Grand Boys
Dave Brockie Experience - Songs For The Wrong
Dave Brockie who is better known as "Oderus" from GWAR releases his second CD of more silliness and mayhem. Expect more songs that are wrong such as "Slowpoke", "Should The Ugly Girl Blow Me?" and "Hard For A Tard." "Hard For A Tard" is the only song that rubs me the wrong way. I know that this is a silly CD and trying to have fun, but when you talk about have sex with a mentally challenged girl, I just cringe and don't think it's funny. I will be the first to tell you that I am very politically incorrect and crude as hell, but that just rubs me the wrong way. Everything else is fair game in my opinion.

"Damn That Monkey" sounds like "Damn That Mullet" when you hear Dave sing it. I don't know why, but I think that title would have been funnier if he sang that instead. Things take an interesting turn when "Shatilla" kicks in. It's a political little number with more of a Hardcore sound. This one deals with the ever continuing situation in Israel. I didn't see this one coming, but it was cool to hear that Dave can be serious somewhat on this disc.

This is nothing more than a feel good CD if you want to call it that with pop and catchy elements thrown in. Call this the somewhat Metal version of Weird Al Yankovic. Don't expect your mind to be challenged here and don't expect this CD to change your life. (Online October 24, 2003)

Joe Florez

2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer