The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Korn - Life Is Peachy (8/10) - USA - 1996

Genre: Nu-Metal
Label: Immortal
Playing time: 48:14
Band homepage: Korn


  1. Twist
  2. Chi
  3. Lost
  4. Swallow
  5. Porno Creep
  6. Good God
  7. Mr. Rogers
  8. K@#0%!
  9. No Place To Hide
  10. Wicked
  11. A.D.I.D.A.S.
  12. Lowrider
  13. Ass Itch
  14. Kill You
  15. [hidden "Twist" no music]
Korn - Life Is Peachy
Picking up where KORN's first CD left, "Life Is Peachy" isn't that much of a step forward in the evolution of the band. The songs are repetitive and not that distinct from one another. I would say they are mostly altered versions of the tracks of the self-titled CD, but they really pale in comparison to the debut record. It seems that on this album, the guys lost most of their edge and simply wrote music, because they had to.

You do have memorable songs on that one though. Some catchy riffs here and there will keep you interested and maybe even create a certain need to listen to the album again, and again and again. KORN has more or less stripped down to the essentials on "Life Is Peachy" and instead of growing mature, they have gone back in time and have gotten rawer a bit, much like an unpolished stone that could be great if it had been worked on more but... you can't help but get the feeling that this album was rushed out.

I say my favourite songs on the record are "Good God", "No Place To Hide" and "A.D.I.D.A.S.". Also, "Twist" is quite an impressive display of Jonathan's wicked style of vocals and sets out the pace nicely at the beginning of the record. The instrumental track "Porno Creep" is a cool change from the other songs and it shows KORN can still innovate. "Kill You" is the "emotional" song on the record and the lyrics are so touching and painfully real, you could almost think you're in Jon's skin. Again, the lyrics discuss such social problems as child abuse, angst, sex and how much you should but aren't loved by your step-mother. Yes, it does get annoying to always hear Jon whine about how people hate him and how he hates people but eh, if he's got nothing else to say.

Musically speaking, "Life Is Peachy" has some good [but not all that creative] guitar-play and the production isn't all that bad. The guys know how to write songs, but somehow forgot how to make them "special" on that one. A nice touch is the guest appearance of Chino Moreno [singer of DEFTONES] on the track "Wicked" [which is a cover of an ICE CUBE-song]. Also the cover of the song "Low Rider" adds to the experience and the combination of the bass and the bagpipes on that one makes it a must-listen.

All and all, I'd recommend this album to fans mostly, because newcomers might be disappointed.

Mathieu Bibeau

2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer