The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Diabolical Masquerade - Death's Design (-/10) - Sweden - 2001

Genre: Black Metal
Label: Avantgarde Music
Playing time: 43:24
Band homepage: Diabolical Masquerade


    1st Movement
  1. Nerves In Rush
  2. Death Ascends - The Hunt (Part I)
  3. You Can't Hide Forever
  4. Right On Time For Murder - The Hunt (Part II)
    2nd Movement
  5. Conscious In No Materia
  6. A Different Plane
  7. Invisible To Us
  8. The One Who Hides A Face Inside
    3rd Movement
  9. And Don't Ever Listen To What It Says
  10. Revelation Of The Puzzle
  11. Human Prophecy
  12. Where The Suffering Leads
    4th Movement
  13. The Remains Of Galactic Expulsions
  14. With Panic In The Heart
  15. Out From The Dark
  16. Still Coming At You
  17. Out From Deeper Dark
    5th Movement
  18. Spinning Back The Clocks
    6th Movement
  19. Soaring Over Dead Rooms
    7th Movement
  20. The Enemy Is The Earth
  21. Recall
  22. All Exits Blocked
  23. The Memory Is Weak
  24. Struck At Random / Outermost Fear
  25. Sparks Of Childhood Coming Back
    8th Movement
  26. Old People's Voodoo Séance
  27. Mary-Lee Goes Crazy
  28. Something Has Arrived
  29. Possessions Of The Voodoo Party
    9th Movement
  30. Not Of Flesh, Not Of Blood
  31. Intact With A Human Psyche
  32. Keeping Faith
    10th Movement
  33. Someone Knows What Scares You
  34. A Bad Case Of Nerves
  35. The Inverted Dream / No Sleep In Peace
  36. Information
  37. Settling The Course
    11th Movement
  38. Ghost Inhabitants
  39. Fleeing From Town
  40. Overlooked Parts
    12th Movement
  41. A New Spark - Victory Theme (Part I)
  42. Hope - Victory Theme (Part II)
  43. Family Portraits - Victory Theme (Part III)
    13th Movement
  44. Smoke Starts To Churn
  45. Hesitant Behavior
  46. A Hurricane Of Rotten Air
    14th Movement
  47. Mastering The Clock
    15th Movement
  48. They Come, You Go
    16th Movement
  49. Haarad El Chamon
  50. The Egyptian Resort
  51. The Pyramid
  52. Frenzy Moods And Other Oddities
    17th Movement
  53. Still Part Of The Design - The Hunt (Part III)
  54. Definite Departure
    18th Movement
  55. Returning Tto Haarad El Chamon
  56. Life Eater
  57. The Pulse
  58. The Defiled Feeds
    19th Movement
  59. The River In Space
  60. A Soulflight Back To Life
    20th Movement
  61. Instant Rebirth - Alternate Ending
Diabolical Masquerade - Death's Design

One of the most cunning releases of the year 2001 was DIABOLICAL MASQUERADE's "Death's Design", the so-called original motion picture soundtrack for a movie that never saw the light of day. With a mere 61 tracks (several lasting around 20 seconds) spanned over 43 minutes, the overall concept of the album may seem awkward at first, but the listener will quickly find himself adapted to this format, to his greatest pleasure.

Alternating between short bursts of instrumental tranquillity and blasting clips of Black Metal-madness, "Death's Design" concentrates on atmosphere first and foremost. Those looking for non-stop brutal Metal will be disappointed. But still, the heterogeneous blend often leaves one out of breath and confused [perhaps a bit like "pure Black Metal" à la DARKTHRONE]. Nevertheless, each and everyone should find many elements to his/her liking in this album. Right away I feel the obligation to bow my head when I behold the musical genius found in this rather uncommon formula. Though there never was and probably never will be a "Death's Design: The Movie", I found myself constantly drawn deep into my imagination whenever a new song played.

In simpler words, each track helps me conceive [virtually] a new scene [or new atmosphere] of this unborn movie. The music itself is excellent and though it's a bit linear, new twists always await the listener throughout the record. The more "standard" Black Metal-parts are brilliantly played and are heavily encrusted with keyboards melodies. Blackheim's voice is dark and eerie and so is the music on which it dances. The presence of Sir Dan Swanö is welcomed and definitely brings a certain flavour to this unusual piece.

Just a quick note that's worth mentioning: the artwork for this album is nothing less than marvellous. Travis Smith has once again fractured every rule there ever was about visual art and has given us a beautiful DigiPak-cover and a superb fold-up poster. His mastery over digital imaging will leave you speechless...

No score for this record. I really can't compare it with anything I've seen before. Let's just say I loved every second of "Death's Design" and it's really one of my favourite albums of 2001.

Mathieu Bibeau

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer