The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

4 tablatures for Chimaira

Chimaira - Pass Out Of Existence (8/10) - USA - 2001

Genre: Nu-Metal
Label: Roadrunner Records
Playing time: 62:28
Band homepage: Chimaira


  1. Let Go
  2. Dead Inside
  3. Severed
  4. Lumps
  5. Pass Out Of Existence
  6. Abeo
  7. Split
  8. Painting The White To Grey
  9. Taste My ...
  10. Rizzo
  11. Sphere
  12. Forced Life
  13. Options
  14. Jade
Chimaira - Pass Out Of Existence
This Cleveland-based band is among others (DRY KILL LOGIC, ILL NINO, DISLOCATED STYLES, ...) one of the newcomer-pack of RoadRunner Records and the former Death Metal-cult-label is continuously working on a hopeful New/Alternative Metal-roster.

Like in the case of the above-mentioned bands CHIMAIRA also are not exception to that and could very well be a good investment into the future. The six grim-looking Americans do not try their luck in melodic spheres, like STAIND or LINKIN PARK, but go the heavy way and could best be put into one category with the likes of FEAR FACTORY or SPINESHANK. Superfat guitars, brutal riffs and breaks, powerful drumming and the cleverly implemented electronic-elements can full satisfy.

Singer Mark Hunter is in the most cases screaming and yelling his frustration off his soul and differs from the competition mostly in not trying to really sing and use melody. With CHIMAIRA all aggressions are let loose and they do not even try to extenuate anything. Fourteen songs have been pressed into "Pass Out Of Existence" and starting with "Let Go", over "Severed" and "Painting The White To Grey" to "Sphere" we get one brutal slab after the other right to where it hurts.

An impeccable debut, which should find friends pretty fast and has quite some power to offer.

Alexander Ehringer

2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer