Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/metal-2/public_html/forum/common.php on line 106
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)

Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/metal-2/public_html/includes/includes.php on line 98

The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

More about Nefelim

Country of origin: Moscow, Russia
Founded: 1993 (under Nifelheim)
Status: Active
Official homepage: Nefelim

More Band Histories
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Band History - Nefelim (Online Apr. 2004)

Moscow Metal band NEFELIM (originally named NIFELHEIM) was formed in 1993 by the two young guitar players Dmitry Fokin and Alexey Montov. The music style of the band for that period can be characterized as Melodic Heavy Speed Metal. We had a lot of local concerts mostly in Moscow and a short awfully recorded demo tape. In the beginning of 1996 the crew was disbanded because of some grave musical disagreements. Alexey Montov became a member of another well-known Moscow band SHADOW HOST. Other musicians also continued their careers in different Moscow bands such as TRANSYLVANIA, SCRAMBLED DEFUNCT, CATHARSIS…


Shortly after that Dmitry Fokin and the band drummer Alexander Rastorguev formed a new crew. Being a leader Dmitry decided to invite a keyboard player instead of the second guitarist. Soon we started rehearsing the new material. Adding the keyboards has changed the music style and the band was renamed to GATES OF CREATION. In 1998, keyboard player D.J.Avad joined the crew and the band found its own style standing for powerful speedy riffs and melodic keyboards. Unfortunately at that time there was no vocalist, who could fit the band and D.J.Avad challenged himself to sing, at least until a free suitable singer was found. During the recording session of a new album the band changed its name to NEFELIM. The album was entitled as “Gates Of Creation” and its release was entirely sponsored by the band itself. The album received good assessments from various Metal magazines all around the world. At the present time the band performs local shows, composes new songs (with both Russian/English lyrics) and is looking for the record deal.

Current Line-Up:
Dmitry Fokin – Guitars
D.J.Avad – Keyboards & Vocals
Semyon Levin – Drums
Konstantin Biryukov – Bass (ex-TRAVEL THROUGH THE NIGHT)

Previous members:
Alexey Montov – Guitars (1993-1996)
Andrey Bartkevich – Vocals (1994-1996)
Julia ”Alice” Chernova – Keyboards (1997-1998)
Anna Vit (Fokina) – Vocals (1995-1996)
Alexander Rastorguev – Drums (on “Vrata Mirozdaniya” (“The Gates Of Creation”))
Dmitry “Chuck” – Bass (1994-1996)


Vrata Mirozdaniya (The Gates Of Creation)

Dmitry Fokin – Guitars

D.J.Avad – Keyboards & Vocals

Konstantin Biryukov – Bass

Alexander Rastorguev - Drums

"The Metal Observer" Review

2002 "Vrata Mirozdaniya (The Gates Of Creation)" - Independent

Total playing time: 44:18
  1. Otstupleniye Ot Dvadtsat Shestogo...
  2. Nefilim
  3. …V Ad
  4. Leta
  5. Atlantis
  6. Inkvizitsiya
  7. Rassvet…



Zerkala (Mirrors)

Dmitry Fokin – Guitars, Keys & Vocals

Konstantin Biryukov – Bass

Alexander Rastorguev – Drums

Anna Fokina – Vocals

Julia “Alice” Chernova - Keyboards

1997 "Zerkala (Mirrors)" - Independent

Total playing time: 43:19

  1. Mirrors
  2. Fairy
  3. To Hell
  4. Downfall
  5. Sword Of Runes
  6. Instrumetal
  7. Inquisition
  8. Dream Keeper



Voin Gor (Demo-Tape)

Dmitry Fokin – Guitars

Alexey Montov – Guitars

Alexander Rastorguev – Drums

Andrey Bartkevich – Vocals

Dmitry “Chuck” – Bass

Anna Vit (Fokina) – Back Vocals

1995 "Voin Gor (Demo-Tape)" - Independent

Total playing time: 38:56

  1. Death
  2. The Armourer
  3. What Should I…?
  4. Burnt Idols
  5. King Of The Dead
  6. Highland Warrior
  7. Sorceress
  8. Bat


© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer