The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

1 tablature for Atrocity

Atrocity - Atlantis (9/10) - Germany - 2004

Genre: Death Metal / Gothic Metal
Label: Napalm Records
Playing time: 55:53
Band homepage: Atrocity


  1. Reich Of Phenomena
  2. Superior Race
  3. Gods Of Nations
  4. Ichor
  5. Enigma
  6. Morbid Mind
  7. Omen
  8. Cold Black Days
  9. Atlantean Empire
  10. Clash Of The Titans
  11. Apocalypse
  12. Lost Eden
  13. The Sunken Paradise
  14. Aeon
  15. Ein Volk
Atrocity - Atlantis

Holy shit, how these guys blast off. ATROCITY begin their new album with a sharpness that I’m not used to from the band since “Todessehnsucht”. The opener “Reich Of Phenomena” is a brutal bastard of Death and Black Metal with blasts but with an excellent, melodic chorus. It makes your jaw drop because hardly anybody would have expected such a brick – the production cuts marble like butter, that’s how powerful and clean it sounds.


Of course, there’s not only brutal melodies of death to hear because there are also more „calm“ tunes on the record. Here and there Gothic-packed tunes appear, symphonic arrangements or sacred choir chants are included as well as catchy choruses. So variation is provided, only those who purely think in categories should get problems with “Atlantis”… I’m stunned, as the commitment and class of this disc is horrifyingly great – the concept is interesting as well. I had already written off the band from Ludwigsburg after the weak “Gemini” album…


Now they even come in a double package: here with „Atlantis“ and then with LEAVES EYES... An old fan is with you again… (Online May 11, 2004)

Ralf Henn

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer