The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

53 tablatures for Dream Theater

Dream Theater - Live Scenes From New York (10/10) - USA - 2001

Genre: Progressive Metal
Label: EastWest
Playing time: 194 min.
Band homepage: Dream Theater


CD 1

  1. Regression
  2. Overture 1928
  3. Strange Déjà vu
  4. Through My Words
  5. Fatal Tragedy
  6. Beyond This Life
  7. John & Theresa Solo Spot
  8. Through Her Eyes
  9. Home
  10. The Dance Of Eternity

CD 2

  1. One Last Time
  2. The Spirit Carries On
  3. Finally Free
  4. Metropolis Pt. 1
  5. The Mirror
  6. Just Let Me Breathe
  7. Acid Rain
  8. Caught In A New Millennium
  9. Another Day
  10. Jordan Rudess' keyboard solo

CD 3

  1. A Mind Beside Itself
  2. Erotomania
  3. Voices
  4. The Silent Man
  5. Learning To Live
  6. A Change Of Seasons

Special Features

  • Previously unreleased live footage of "Another Day"
  • Video footage of Jordan Rudess' keyboard solo
  • Trailer for Metropolis 2000: Scenes From New York home video
Dream Theater - Live Scenes From New York

“Live Scenes From New York” is one incredible album. With 3 CDs to spotlight one of the greatest Progressive acts ever you simply can’t go wrong.


From the first hook I heard on this CD I couldn’t help but be incredibly envious of anyone that has seen this band live. Vocally and musically this CD shows that bands don’t always need multiple dubs to get it right and then unable to reproduce it live later.


This should have been released on September 11 2001, unfortunately the original art on the cover had show the World Trade Center burning in a huge flame. Because of that sad day DREAM THEATER pulled it from release and re-created the artwork to show respect for such a sad day.


I can’t choose one song on here that I could say is a great song or a “greater” song because it would feel like an insult to the other amazing songs on this compilation. All I can say is “If you like DREAM THEATER and are a HUGE Prog fan then I suggest that you run on today (Yes Today!!) and buy this CD to hear where the standard was placed for all Prog acts to follow.


The production value of this CD is great in capturing everything that DREAM THEATER is made up of as well as the Enhanced CD features that make for a great experience.


I can say nothing wrong about this CD except for I wish I was one of the lucky people that was there watching them. (Online July 7, 2004)

Charles McLachlan

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer