The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

44 tablatures for Unleashed

Unleashed - Sworn Allegiance (9/10) - Sweden - 2004

Genre: Death Metal
Label: Century Media
Playing time: 44:42
Band homepage: Unleashed


  1. Winterland >mp3
  2. Destruction
  3. Only The Dead
  4. The Longships Are Coming
  5. Helljoy
  6. Insane For Blood
  7. I Bring You Death
  8. Attack!
  9. CEO
  10. One Night In Nazareth
  11. Praised Be The Lord
  12. Metalheads
  13. To Miklagård
  14. Long Live The Beast
Unleashed - Sworn Allegiance

Hell, who would have thought that UNLEASHED would excite me like that again? The meanwhile 7. studio album of the Swedes has hidden depths! The other albums after the sensational debut “Where No Life Dwells” weren’t bad all together, but somehow I was missing the kick there. Here the Vikings do everything the right way. The sound is skull-splitting, the drive definitely provides for an aching neck and even variation is no foreign word here.


Like a tornado the opener “Winterland“ blows through your house. Extremely fast the song tears through your ears – an irresistible hymn of death! Equally classy is the striking, somewhat more modern “Only The Dead” with sick, necrophiliac lyrics… “Insane For Blood” is somewhat reminiscent of SLAYER, “To Miklagård” is rather menacing, playful…One cool track follows another and nonetheless we don’t have to renounce the typical trademarks of UNLEASHED…Listen to “I Bring You Death”, drum-wise it sounds almost exactly like the band classic “Before The Creation Of Time”…But the guys already had this several times…The solos have even become much better and blasting is also allowed more often…The thick hell production is almost perfect and completely blows you away! The trick is, that no song is really bad.


UNLEASHED have stayed true to themselves. They still offer Swedish Death Metal as you have been offered it on all of their discs so far, only better. And I’ve always liked that better than the Melodic stuff from Gothenburg!


In this spirit: Attack! (Online August 30, 2004)

Ralf Henn

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer