The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More DVD/VHS Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Various Artists - Metal Blade Records 20th Anniversary Party (DVD) (7/10) - V/A - 2004

Genre: Various
Label: Metal Blade Records
Playing time: 60:11/45:58
Band homepage: -



  1. God Was Created (Vehemence)
  2. Chunk Blower (Cattle Decapitation)
  3. Monster (Engine)
  4. I Don't Need (Engine)
  5. Master Of Disguise (Lizzy Borden)
  6. Notorious (Lizzy Borden)
  7. Master Of Disguise Reprise (Lizzy Borden)
  8. Pay Dirt (Armored Saint)
  9. Madhouse (Armored Saint)
  10. Stripped, Raped and Strangled (Cannibal Corpse)
  11. A Skull Full Of Maggots (Cannibal Corpse)

Bonus CD:

  1. I Cum Blood (Cannibal Corpse)
  2. Unleashing The Bloodthirsty (Cannibal Corpse)
  3. Fucked With A Knife (Cannibal Corpse)
  4. Unstable (Armored Saint)
  5. You're Never Alone (Armored Saint)
  6. Symbol Of Salvation (Armored Saint)
  7. Perfect Star (Engine)
  8. Taste (Engine)
  9. Born To Be Wild (Lizzy Borden)
  10. Testicular Manslaughter (Cattle Decapitation)
  11. Writhe In Purtressence (Cattle Decapitation)
  12. Kill For God (Vehemence)
Various Artists - Metal Blade Records 20th Anniversary Party (DVD)

Jesus Christ! It has only been over a year and a half ago when this party took place and it has now surfaced onto DVD. The ANTHRAX “Music Of Mass Destruction” DVD came out just a mere few months after the recording took place. Well, this is a historical moment in music history as Metal Blade was one of the very first true Metal labels to sign underground bands like you see in the listing above.


The DVD kicks off with an interview with Joey Vera and he is being asked about the history of the label. Soon after, we get into the concert footage. VEHEMENCE is first on here and the crowd looks like they are just walking in because no one is really getting stoked about the show and everyone looks lifeless. As for VEHEMENCE, they are not exactly the world's most exciting band as they just stand around and grind their way through the song. There are some still shots inserted with the motion of this clip, but it's very uninspiring. The sound is clear and the main problem with this DVD is the camera shooting because it looks like it's shooting from somewhere on the balcony and it's in one spot. There is no moving around or more than one use of a camera. It's just one camera. I guess the budget wasn't there. Oh well.


CATTLE DECAP is up next and they grind their way through their song as well. Another band that isn't very enthusiastic on stage. Another thing that this show suffers from is any use of close ups. The lighting isn't bad, but because it's shot from afar you just see bodies moving along with heads bobbing. That's it. We take a break from the show and we get a clip inserted of Ray Alder from FATES WARNING and he talks about the history of the label as well and how he got involved with Brian Slagel. Very informative. You would think that when you are shooting an intie that you couldn't screw it up because you are in one spot not moving, but you see the lens get out of focus and has to be corrected right during the interview with Ray. How bad is that? Loose the camera guy and get a more experienced one. We get to ENGINE and guess what? There is a close up with Ray as he talks for a few seconds before jumping into his song. The lighting here kind of sucks because it sort of blurs the faces, but when the camera is shot from afar once again, things are cleared up. The people still seemed unmoved by the performances, but that is how us Americans are. We don't generally bounce around unless we are watching SLIPKNOT or KORN.


We see a much older LIZZY BORDEN without the frizzy hair and hideous make up. Before he sings his classic songs, he gives his take on Metal Blade as well. For some reason, I was never into this band. His voice just annoyed me much like finger nails on a chalk board. Sorry! It is finally that when we get to ARMORED SAINT that things get really cooking. MB president Brian Slagel introduces the band and as soon as John Bush hits the stage, the fans begin to wake up. You a side angle of the band and while it's not the best shot in the world, you get a clear picture of the guys in action. The band has never sounded better and the fans would back me up on that one. Members of CANNIBAL CORPSE are asked question in the backstage area and they tell their stories before they decimate the stage with their gore infected lyrics. You can see the fans throwing the devil horns and digging the band as they do windmills right in front of them.


We at long last come to a conclusion of the concert, but not before we get an interview with the man. Brian Slagel and he tells stories of yore with some of favorite bands signed to the label and then some. Ok, this may not be the most exciting DVD, but this is historical and anyone who is a fan of any of the bands on this label should get a better knowledge of this company by picking this up. It's packed with info. Also, as a special bonus you get a CD with plenty of songs that weren't on the DVD. I think that maybe if the concert was shot better then the songs from the CD would have been better on DVD, but since it's not, this is what you get and that is quite fine with me. I think that if you were at the show it was probably better because you would have been able to mingle with the staff of the label and perhaps with the bands. This something special for the fans of the label that have been following it from the beginning. Get it and put it in your collection. (Online October 1, 2004)

Joe Florez

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer