The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

53 tablatures for King Diamond

King Diamond - Abigail II: The Revenge (8,5/10) - Denmark - 2002

Genre: Heavy Metal
Label: Metal Blade Records
Playing time: 63:04
Band homepage: King Diamond


  1. Spare This Life
  2. The Storm
  3. Mansion In Sorrow
  4. Miriam
  5. Little One
  6. Slippery Stairs
  7. The Crypt
  8. Broken Glass
  9. More Than Pain
  10. The Wheelchair
  11. Spirits
  12. Mommy
  13. Sorry Dear
King Diamond - Abigail II: The Revenge
Who doesn't know it: The legendary "Abigail"-album of KING DIAMOND? OK, musically me, I admit it, but this won't keep me from doing this review neither should it keep you from reading it - at least that is what I hope…

But anyway, 15 years after that album we get the second part, sub-titled "The Revenge". Like said, I cannot compare it to the second part, but from what I know of the creations of the Dane with residence in Dallas, it is typical for KING DIAMOND, yet at the same time also different, underlining which ever part of the story is just musically supported.

The music is, as always with him, quite intricate and thought-through into every detail, no mood is created by chance, but always fits into the whole picture. Very catchy and melodic parts go hand in hand with pretty bulky passages, which seen for themselves might seem a little out of place, but in combination form a very good and compact union. The music eludes any of the usual categorizations, because you find modern riffs just as well as melodic Heavy Metal and, of course, the typically varied vocals of Master Pedersen, from normal pitch up to his famous (and partly feared) falsetto.

To mention single titles is almost impossible, because "Abigail II: The Revenge" is an album where you really cannot separate music and lyrics, too strongly the musical performance is woven into the again brilliant horror-story. It is a rare thing, but as almost any time the king releases an album it's worth it just sitting down with the CD in the player, taking the booklet and just to follow the fascinating story.

Especially his voice will, as usual, be the most decisive factor, if you'll like to get this album, but who likes it or at least can get along with it will be rewarded a very varied and very good album and a brilliant concept-story!

Alexander Melzer

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer