Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/metal-2/public_html/forum/common.php on line 106
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)

Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/metal-2/public_html/includes/includes.php on line 98
THE METAL OBSERVER - Review - THERION - Lemuria / Sirius B

The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

54 tablatures for Therion

Therion - Lemuria / Sirius B (10/10) - Sweden - 2004

Genre: Symphonic Metal
Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Playing time: 42:19 / 57:03
Band homepage: Therion



  1. Typhon >mp3
  2. Uthark Runa
  3. Three Ships Of Berik Part 1 (Calling To Arms And Fighting The Battle)
  4. Three Ships Of Berik Part 2 (Victory)
  5. Lemuria
  6. Quetzalcoatl
  7. The Dreams Of Swedenborg
  8. An Arrow From The Sun
  9. Abraxas
  10. Feuer Overture/Prometheus Entfesselt 

Sirius B:

  1. The Blood Of Kingu
  2. Son Of The Sun
  3. The Khlysti Evangelist
  4. Dark Venus Persephone
  5. Kali Yuga Part I
  6. Kali Yuga Part II
  7. The Wondrous World Of Punt
  8. Melek Taus
  9. Call Of Dagon
  10. Sirius B
  11. Voyage Of Gurdjieff (The Fourth Way)
Therion - Lemuria / Sirius B

It has been three years since the last release and Mr. Johnsson has come up with another masterpiece and at the same time it's a double CD. “Lemuria” is the first part of the CD. Immediately, we are treated to a Power Metal symphony. The guitars are simple here yet they are catchy. The drums are loud and thick, but don't cross over into the rapid fire territory like a PRIMAL FEAR CD. However, the vocals mix classical female and main man Christofer Johnsson's DM growls. I know that he's gotten rid of it in the past, but now they return. The composition of “Typhon“ is slick and entertaining. It's not drabby at all or sluggish. The name of the game in here is mid-paced. There is even some Bluesy slide guitar action and the solos are phenomenal here as well. Yep, there is a lot going on just track number one and it's only a little over four minutes.


We still have a very long way to go. “Uthark Runa“ goes back into the symphonic mode that we have come to know and love the band for. The track remains up beat and the choir that comes in here can be heard lour and clear and it's done so well. It's very classy and memorable along with the Metal guitar licks. “Three Ships Of Berik“ provides a lot of galloping riffs along with some flute action for that folk music feel. This majestic track sounds like it could be inserted in Lord Of The Rings due to it being so lavished and beautiful. Just in case you were wondering, Chris adds more DM growls to the mix. Every track on the first CD are very memorable, but “The Dreams Of Swedenborg“ is a little bit more due to the unique way the guitars are performed here. I have never heard anything like them before, but it's refreshing and Chris never disappoints. All of the tracks on CD one are short, yet very compelling.


There’s absolutely so much going on here that you will have to listen to this over and over again to hear it all because there is just so much to ingest. Well, if this was the only CD that he released, I would have been satisfied, but it's not over yet. I may be full here, but I have to find room for more and I will. We get a movie score like intro on “The Blood Of Kingu“ with its boisterous string arrangements before the Power Metal like music kicks in with Mats Leven singing on this track. The choirs come back here in full force and this track just rocks. Another PM track comes in the form of “The Khlysti Evangelist.“ The difference is that this one is more elegant and has some classical arrangements in here. “Dark Venus Persephone“ remains to be yet another classy and interesting track filled with more choirs and grandiose arrangements.


Basically, “Sirius B” picks up where “Lemuria” left off. The songs continue to fabulous in every way. The complex, multi-dimensional, heavily layered and well textured music can make anyone appreciate the skills of one Mr. Johnsson because he is such a fantastic composer. You wouldn't know it, but he has enlisted well over a hundred musicians to create this masterpiece. He is worth every dime that you have because he gives you something here that is timeless and respectable. Anyone who appreciates talented musicians and wants to take their musical journey to another level should pick this up if you don't know the music by now. (Online October 20, 2004)

Joe Florez

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer