The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

19 tablatures for Entombed

Entombed - Inferno/Averno (6/10) - Sweden - 2003/2004

Genre: Death'N'Roll
Label: Threeman Records
Playing time: 45:54/18:25
Band homepage: Entombed


Disc I

  1. Retaliation >mp3
  2. The Fix Is In
  3. Incinerator
  4. Children Of The Underworld
  5. That's When I Became A Satanist
  6. Nobodaddy
  7. Intermission
  8. Young & Dead
  9. Descent Into Inferno
  10. Public Burning
  11. Flexing Muscles
  12. Skeletons Of Steel
  13. Night For Day

Disc II

  1. When Humanity's Gone
  2. There Are Horrors Of 1000 Nightmares
  3. Random Guitar
  4. Retaliation (Video Edit)
  5. Albino Flogged In Black (Video Edit)


  • Retaliation
  • Albino Flogged In Black
Entombed - Inferno/Averno

Here's the deal. I know that this was released back in 2003 everywhere else, but in America it was another story. Koch Entertainment put it out without the band's permission and it was soon off the shelves. At one point, Century Media was talking about releasing it with some extra goodies. That never happened as the band's Threeman label decided to work hand in hand with Candlelight Records and now they have the right to distribute it in the U.S.


Now packaged with "Inferno" is "Averno" which is a second disc packed with 3 unreleased songs, 2 video edit songs and two videos. There is also an alarm clock that you can install into your computer, but I have yet to do so. With that said, how does this new Death N' Roll CD stack up? "Retaliation" carries those one of a kind Swedish guitar licks that are known the world over. The track kind of crawls, but it's still heavy as hell and the drums just pound away. It's ok, but nothing that we haven't heard as of late from the band. "The Fix Is In" is more up beat and the rhythm section is not only groovin', but in your face as well. It took just a little while, but now the quick double bass drumming has been inserted on "Incinerator." You will notice the SLAYER like vibe both riff wise and vocally, but done Swedish style.


Just when it looked like the band was picking up a little steam, the band reverts back to the "Uprising" days. Not that it's a bad idea, but it's time to progress. That is the CD that got me into the band in the first place. I know that I am a late bloomer, but what can you do. "Children Of The Underworld" is a slow Doom track that is punishing and just a bit boring for my taste. It's does kick it into second gear toward the end, but it's really a throw away tune. "That's When I Became A Satanist" is what I considered SLAYER going Stoner Rock. It is very reminiscent of something from "Uprising." More energy is put forth here and it's ok, but once again we don't need another slab of tunes from that album. With "Noodaddy", we go from SLAYER inspired to C.O.C. complete with Pepper Keenan like vocals. What's going on here? I thought these guys were original? Maybe they just want to pay homage to them or something. Who knows? The band tosses in a piano instrumental that is appropriately titled "Intermission." I don't think that the band should be tossing that in. They need more fuel added here in order keep things moving.


"Descent Into Inferno" is one of the more interesting tunes thanks to the guitar work. It offers a unique vibe that is actually quite memorable and a little different for the band. The lyrics to "Flexing Muscle" have to be the funniest thing that I have ever heard. While they ring true, they don't need to be on an album like this. It's a real pisser. This CD is going to generate perhaps a lot of controversy here because it's not the ENTOMBED of old or even just a few years ago. This CD manages to go all over the place which makes things unpredictable, but it's not consistent. The bonus disc would be the reason to have this in your collection for the reasons mentioned above. The tracks on here are much cooler. Thank God that the songs are short and to the point. It's not a bad release, but I was expecting just a little more from the purveyors of Swedish Death Metal. (Online November 1, 2004)

Joe Florez

2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer