The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

1 tablature for Meliah Rage

Meliah Rage - Barely Human (8,5/10) - USA - 2004

Genre: Heavy Metal
Label: Escapi Music
Playing time: 44:02/54:12
Band homepage: Meliah Rage


Barely Human:

  1. Hate Machine >mp3
  2. Invincible
  3. Barely Human >mp3
  4. Ungodly
  5. Wrong Place Right Time
  6. Rigid
  7. Bloodbath
  8. Hell Song
  9. Motor Psycho

Unfinished Business:

  1. Mind Stalk
  2. Moment Of Silence
  3. Ruthless
  4. Decade Of Dreams
  5. Blacksmith
  6. Possesing Judgement
  7. Violent Force
  8. Season To Kill
  9. (Interview)
Meliah Rage - Barely Human

MELIAH RAGE have already been active since 1985 and the cult debut “Kill To Survive” saw the light of the world in 1988. After that “Solitary Solitude” followed, which was also able to get good reviews everywhere. Unfortunately the band got out of my sight after that. As far as I know there was another album at some time or other in the nineties whose name I don’t know.


After that the „Unfinished Business“ demo, which is included as bonus CD here, came out. But let’s talk about the new album from 2004. Classic Power Metal is still offered by MELIAH RAGE from Boston (USA). The opener “Hate Machine” is already enjoyable, the song is just a cool opener which invites you to bang your head joyfully. After that it’s almost Thrash Metal that is served in “Invincible”. The title song has a rather pounding character and this irresistible sing along chorus. After that things get semi-balladesque and I can recommend this song, “Ungodly”, to anyone who loves the atmosphere of certain METALLICA ballads. Definitely the album’s hit! Great!


„Wrong Place Right Time“ is angry again and enchants through a cool chorus. The album is slowly beginning to get creepy… - sympathetic! With more than 8 minutes “Rigid” is the longest track on “Barely Human” and was kept completely instrumental. You can’t conceal one or another long-drawn-out passage, there are more captivating instrumental tunes…”Bloodbath” can’t really excite me either, it’s too boring to me. But the ballad “Hell Song” makes up for it again. The closer “Motor Psycho” is of the same quality, very driving, sounds quite like WARGASM, which isn’t very surprising, as in Mayo the former WARGASM shouter stands behing the microphone. At least on some tunes.


Conclusion: the latest MELIAH RAGE album KILLS TOTALLY, except for two weaker tracks. As bonus, as I said before, you get the “Unfinished Business” demo which sounds way heavier and thrashier. However the songs on the newer album are better and more thought over! MELIAH RAGE are back! And how! (Online November 22, 2004)

Ralf Henn

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer