Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/metal-2/public_html/forum/common.php on line 106
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)

Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/metal-2/public_html/includes/includes.php on line 98

The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

9 tablatures for Within Temptation

Within Temptation - The Silent Force (8/10) - Netherlands - 2004

Genre: Symphonic Metal
Label: G.U.N. Records
Playing time: 54:34
Band homepage: Within Temptation


  1. Intro
  2. See Who I Am
  3. Jillian (I’d Give My Heart)
  4. Stand My Ground
  5. Pale
  6. Forsaken
  7. Angels
  8. Memories
  9. Aquarius
  10. It’s The Fear
  11. Somewhere
  12. A Dangerous Mind (Bonus track)
  13. The Swan Song (Bonus track)
  • Multi-Media Part (Video Stand My Ground, Video Behind The Scenes, Photo Gallery, Screensaver)
Within Temptation - The Silent Force

After GUN Records, new home of WITHIN TEMPTATION, got all the pennies it could get with the success of “Mother Earth”, releasing numerous amount of EP’s, time has finally comes for the band to release their new effort.


Did the style of WITHIN TEMPTATION evolved or changed since the 2001 “Mother Earth” album? Not that much. The symphonic influences that were present in “Mother Earth” are still all over the place on “The Silent Force”. With that said, “The Silent Force” sounds somehow different, if it is for the EVANESCENCE and the “modern Gothic Metal/Pop” feeling that you get through some songs, like the single “Stand My Ground”, which really sounds like it was a left out song of EVANESCENCE debut album, if it is not for Sharon Den Adel, which is a more professional singer than Amy Lee. What also differs from “Mother Earth” is the overall feeling of softness that goes throughout the album. For sure songs like “See Who I Am”, “It’s The Fear” and “Aquarius” are still heavy numbers to be found, but all in all, there is more of dramatic feeling to be found, both in the vocal lines and in the musical approach.


Sound wise, it is impeccable. The guitar as never sounds that heavy. They also included more electronic effects, which gives the album this overall “modern” sound that “Mother Earth” hadn’t. Sharon Den Adel still rips everything vocally. Is there any female singer out there, beside maybe Tarja (NIGTHWISH) or Anneke Van Giersbergen (THE GATHERING) that can pretend to be such a professional singer, with angel like vocal capacities?


WITHIN TEMPTATION doesn’t hide the purpose of their new musical approach and mentality. They want to hit big the market, and they have the power and the material to do it. They want to become popular, to stand out of the underground scene, and with a quality video like “Stand My Ground”, there is no reason why commercial radios wouldn’t follow and promote the band. They didn’t walk far from the path they were already following on “Mother Earth”, putting aside the Death vocals and the heaviness for a more emotional and dramatic sound. They did just the right amount of change in their music with “The Silent Force” to prepare the fans slowly for the changes that will come soon. Isn’t this the best way to keep your old fan happy, and to gather new ones? (Online December 30, 2004)

Mathieu Chamberland

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer