Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/metal-2/public_html/forum/common.php on line 106
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)

Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/metal-2/public_html/includes/includes.php on line 98
THE METAL OBSERVER - Review - RAGE - From The Cradle To The Stage

The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Rage - From The Cradle To The Stage (9/10) - Germany - 2004

Genre: Power Metal
Label: Steamhammer
Playing time: 135:22
Band homepage: Rage


CD 1

  1. Orgy Of Destruction
  2. War Of Worlds
  3. Great Old Ones
  4. Pain The Devil On The Wall
  5. Sent By The Devil
  6. Firestorms
  7. Down
  8. Prayers Of Steel
  9. Suicide
  10. Days Of December
  11. Unity
  12. Anarchy (Drum Solo)
  13. Enough Is Enough
  14. Invisible Horizons
  15. Set This World On Fire

CD 2

  1. Flesh And Blood >mp3
  2. Rocket Science (Guitar Solo)
  3. Soundchaser
  4. Straight To Hell
  5. Back In Time
  6. Refuge
  7. From The Cradle To The Grave
  8. Black In Mind
  9. Solitary Man
  10. Don’t Fear The Winter
  11. All I Want
  12. Higher Than The Sky
Rage - From The Cradle To The Stage

When a band celebrates two decades of joyous Metal roller coasting and mixed up hardships, you gotta do things properly. By far my biggest review assignment so far here at TMO, RAGE’s twentieth anniversary is packed into two live CD’s and two DVD’s, more than seven hours (faints one more time) of great Metal music that took form in the gutter and fought its way into the stage! I’ve been occupied with nothing but RAGE in the last few days since there’s so much material to go through, in this review I’ll deal with the double live album. Don’t worry, the DVD will be getting its turn right after.


The two live CD’s give you the chance to experience Peavy, Smolski and Terrana in a fantastic groove as they go through classic old material (“Don’t Fear The Winter”, “Straight To Hell”, “Solitary Man”) to recent creations from “Welcome To The Other Side”, “Unity” and their latest slab titled “Soundchaser”. For sheer nostalgia, the band performs “Prayers Of Steel” from Peavy’s AVENGER days, a track that works well with the current line-up, not as good as their post eighty periods but still Metal as fuck.


Smolski and Terrana both get five minutes of solo playing during the over two hour set. Terrana’s heavy banging on the drum comes out very aggressive, not the most technical drummer there is, I’m sure he can do a few things with the sticks, but when he plays with RAGE his job is to keep rhythm tight and heavy, which he has no problem with. Smolski outshines his band compadre with his neo-classical skills and superior solo licks and shredding.


Both CD’s are enjoyable, the band is in great shape, the set list packs a fistful of Heavy/Power Metal and the atmosphere is friendly and uplifting. For those who don’t know the band, this is a good place to start, for fans “From The Cradle To The Stage” is a historical event and the party of a lifetime!


Highly recommended!!! (Online February 5, 2005)

Frodi Stenberg

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer