The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More DVD/VHS Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Rage - From The Cradle To The Stage (DVD) (9/10) - Germany - 2004

Genre: Power Metal
Label: Steamhammer
Playing time: 308 min.
Band homepage: Rage


DVD 1:

  1. Orgy Of Destruction
  2. War Of Worlds
  3. Great Old Ones
  4. Pain The Devil On The Wall
  5. Sent By The Devil
  6. Firestorm
  7. Down
  8. Prayers Of Steel
  9. Suicide
  10. Days Of December
  11. Unity
  12. Anarchy (Drum Solo)
  13. Invisible Horizons
  14. Set This World On Fire
  15. Flesh And Blood
  16. Rocket Science (Guitar Solo)
  17. Soundchaser
  18. Straight To Hell
  19. Back In Time
  20. Refuge
  21. From The Cradle To The Grave
  22. Black In Mind
  23. Solitary Man
  24. Don’t Fear The Winter
  25. All I Want
  26. Higher Than The Sky

DVD 2:

  • Band Documentary
  • Makings Of
  • Video Clips
  • Live Clips
  • Discography
Rage - From The Cradle To The Stage (DVD)

Happy Birthday RAGE!!! As promised, here’s the second review of “From The Cradle To The Stage”, brought to you by one of Germany’s longest running Heavy Metal generators. I liked the live CD’s but the DVD is able to do so much more, you can only perceive so much through audio, getting to see how the band sweeps the floor clean with only “feel good” vibrations after the main anniversary show at Bochum makes a Metal fan feel happy, furthermore, it makes me proud of being a part on this worldwide phenomena.


The band’s endurance on the stage is remarkable, this DVD showcases solid proof of their dedication, they sure worked hard for the fans on this night bringing them one RAGE classic after another. Watching the solo performances of Smolski and Terrana fried most of my brain cells. The robust drummer would’ve caused a stir if travelling with a circus team the way ho tosses his sticks while playing the most insane Metal beats. Smolski’s performance? Well, my air guitar is now for sale, I don’t want it any more, it takes serious skills technique and confidence to pull these manoeuvres off with such awesome results, a monster guitar player. All in all, a very good concert, plenty of cameras, good interaction between the band and crowd, great Metal music, it’s all there!!!


The second disc features varied bonus material. First up is the one hour documentary about the ride so far. Peavy, Smolski and Terrana talk about their influences, what makes them tick when writing their music, hobbies (didn’t know Smolski had a talent for car racing), the kind of stuff that takes us fans one step closer to their world, a very good presentation of the band. Coming up after the documentary are two clips from the studio where the band members work their magic as they take on the tunes “Falling From Grace” and “Dies Irae”, which has some very nice looking female choir singers in it, those were some fine choices guys hehe! A third clip shows the making of the anniversary show letting the instrument technicians, light designers and sound engineers brag about their work, thumbs up for them for making it all work so well that night.


Left is the traditional discography feature (guess what’s hidden behind that door), four live songs and eleven RAGE videos. None of the promotional videos succeed in capturing my attention, I’ve never liked these ordinary Metal videos with goofy effects. However, the “Lingua Mortis Medley”, where the band clashes with an orchestra, and the video for “Down” did manage to thrill me for a moment, more up to date if you like.


So, in conclusion, this DVD package is a real treat for fans, there’ll be more than one spin on this baby trust me on that. (Online February 19, 2005)

Frodi Stenberg

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer