The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Ragnarok (UK) - Domgeorn (7,5/10) - Great Britain - 1999

Genre: Black Metal
Label: Eldethorn
Playing time: 76:32
Band homepage: -


  1. þe Him & Hrefnagod Gaelð
  2. Wodnesuno
  3. þonne Waeron We Haeleð
  4. Sigorleoð
  5. Ni Fuil An Sabras Aðragad Deað
  6. To Wælhealle
  7. I Hear The Mountain
  8. Legion Of Death
  9. Hliðescleof
  10. Samhain
  11. John Barleycorn
  12. & Aesctreow
  13. Beloved Of The Raven God
  14. Heart Of Steel
Ragnarok (UK) - Domgeorn
I really had not expected ever to hear a second album of the British Folk Black Metalians of RAGNAROK (UK) after "To Mend The Oaken Heart", also because the reviews were partly more than harsh, undeservedly as I think.

"Domgeorn" undoubtedly will get just the same, and again it is better than most will write. Just like on their debut, RAGNAROK (UK) mix dark Folg with melodic Black Metal, while the folky songs have grown in number, what is a good move.

"þonne Waeron We Haeleð" or "Sigorleoð" comprise of just this dark Folk, with violin, flute, deep, clean vocals and choirs, building up a very interesting atmosphere. "Legion Of Death", indlucing an e-guitars reminds a bit of SKYCLAD, while "Ni Fuil An Sabras Aðragad Deað" and "Samhain" are interesting Folk Black Metal. Unfortunately, just as with the first album, Deörths Mickey-Mouse-voice is used time and again, what kills much of the quality of some songs, because it just sounds plainly ridiculous.

After Carl Orff's "Fortuna Imperatrix Mundi" was painted black on "To Mend The Oaken Heart", RAGNAROK (UK) have lain their hands on MANOWARs "Heart Of Steel" this time. It has been spiced up with a harp (!), while vocally at first rough yet clear vocals dominate, before Mickey Mouse takes over again.

Who can overlook these vocal stepping stones and has no antipathy against Folk, should really listen into this CD.

Alexander Melzer

2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer