Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/metal-2/public_html/forum/common.php on line 106
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 916: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /common.php:106)

Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/metal-2/public_html/includes/includes.php on line 98
THE METAL OBSERVER - Review - KATATONIA - The Black Sessions

The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

61 tablatures for Katatonia

Katatonia - The Black Sessions (-/10) - Sweden - 2005

Genre: Gothic Metal
Label: Peaceville Records
Playing time: 206:00
Band homepage: Katatonia


CD 1

  1. Teargas
  2. Right Into The Bliss
  3. Criminals
  4. Help Me Disappear >mp3
  5. Nerve
  6. The Future Of Speech
  7. Ghost Of The Sun
  8. I Am Nothing
  9. Deadhouse
  10. Passing Bird
  11. Sleeper
  12. Sulfur >mp3
  13. No Devotion
  14. Chrome
  15. A Premonition

CD 2

  1. Dispossession
  2. Cold Ways
  3. Nightmares By The Sea
  4. How I Enjoy The Light
  5. Evidence
  6. March 4
  7. I Break
  8. For My Demons
  9. Omerta
  10. Tonight’s Music
  11. Stalemate
  12. Wait Outside
  13. Fractured
  14. Sweet Nurse
  15. Black Session


Krakow Concert
Katatonia - The Black Sessions

The growth of KATATONIA bumped into fast forward speeding ever since Normann, Renkse and Nyström got a steady line-up and became a real band. Their records are being licensed over to Jim and Frank, labels trying to reissue old albums without permission, touring schedules grow with each passing album, collector items drop from the sky as if the band were the next KENT or PORCUPINE TREE and skyrocketing demands for a new album ought to put some pressure on them, everybody wants a piece of this unique band. So now they’ve got Peaceville releasing a double disc compilation in addition to the concert DVD originally due on the band’s first DVD, which now has been postponed because of unsatisfactory material at present time.


“Brave Yester Days” mostly covered the antique Doom Metal origins of “Dance Of December Souls” and “For Funerals To Come”, albums that I never really cared about, no doubt the songs have something good in them but they sound dry, a re-recording of those albums and I’d be interested. “The Black Sessions” is the ultimate KATATONIA collection for the person who got into their music around “Discouraged Ones”, most of the great songs are there so it’s a safe buy for the hardcore fan. Like said, the material is really good but personally, I think a few classics are missing here, how come “Distrust”, “Relention” and “A Darkness Coming” were left out, those are some of their best tracks, I’m shocked!


The real reason I got this box set was because of the six b-sides and “Wait Outside”, a killer unreleased track from “Viva Emptiness”. These songs are about as good as your standard KATATONIA track, especially the despair ridden “Sulfur” and its bleak guitar harmonies. So yeah, good tracks with typical arrangements but I can understand why they weren’t used in the end, they lack a certain punch.


The DVD is a simple concert played in Poland. You’ll never guess where they shot the concert… in Krakow… the place where live DVD’s are created with the same boring crowd and hyperactive cameras, mysterious. It was cool to see the band in action, they don’t move around much which is why the clinical deliverance of classics like “Teargas”, “I Break”, “Tonight’s Music” and “For My Demons” creates a very moody atmosphere. The show is closed with the grand “Murder” featuring Jonas Renkse on growling vocals and Nyström on blackened shrieks, a very cool performance! The drumming is a real standout; Daniel Liljekvist puts so much energy into his playing when he’s not giving the camera the finger.


Fans will have no reason not to get this one… so get it already! (Online June 21, 2005)

Frodi Stenberg

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer