The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

1 tablature for Primal Fear

Primal Fear - Black Sun (9/10) - Germany - 2002

Genre: Power Metal
Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Playing time: 57:01
Band homepage: Primal Fear


  1. Countdown To Insanity
  2. Black Sun
  3. Armageddon
  4. Lightyears From Home
  5. Revolution
  6. Fear
  7. Mind Control
  8. Magic Eye
  9. Mind Machine
  10. Silence
  11. We Go Down
  12. Cold Day In Hell
  13. Controlled
Primal Fear - Black Sun


Since JUDAS PRIEST dropped the ball in a major way after delivering their worst release ever, "Demolition", who in the Power Metal/True Metal/Heavy Metal-genre can save us and lead us into the next millennium? It can't be HELLOWEEN! While the band has revolutionized Power Metal, they are just too happy for many tastes. You need someone who is not just popular with the German crowd and the rest of Europe. They must have worldwide appeal and be vicious.

PRIMAL FEAR could be and should be the answer. General Mat Sinner and his crew lead us privates (known as Metal Commandos) to march toward the "Black Sun". The PRIEST-inspired band should have been on hand for the recording of their record to show them how it's done or better yet, let PRIMAL record it and just slap the name JUDAS PRIEST on the cover after the recording was done.

The band rips right into it and lets you know that these guys are true Metal. The title-track is just filled with sonic riffs laid down by Stefan and Henny while Klaus' drumming is just loaded with thunderous beats that will just have you doing windmills and raising your fist till the very end. While the band may not be the most original musically, you can tell that their hearts are in the music for not only themselves, but the fans as well. Speed and power will be the general focus of the disc.

The band gets a little experimental with "Revolution", which only adds to the dynamics of their sound. While the opening seconds are sort of synthetic sort of like PRIEST's "Turbo"-disc, the band offers a more melodic and slowed down tune which is still able to jam out. One of Rob Halford's henchmen in the form of guitarist Mike Chlasciak stopped by and threw down some licks for "Fear" and "Controlled". Just like he delivers the goods in Halford's band, he tears it up on these two tracks as well. Mat Sinner opens his mouth for the first time and swaps vocals with Scheepers on the explosive "Mind Machine".

True Metal-fans can breathe a sigh of relief, because PRIMAL FEAR is here to deliver us from the evil that has been sent upon us: Nu-Metal and give us that rush of adrenalin we have been waiting for.

Joe Florez

2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer