The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

AC/DC - Live (9/10) - Australia - 1992

Genre: Hard Rock
Label: Epic Records
Playing time: 70:21/61:44
Band homepage: AC/DC


CD 1

  1. Thunderstruck
  2. Shoot To Thrill
  3. Back In Black
  4. Sin City
  5. Who Made Who
  6. Heatseeker
  7. Fire Your Guns
  8. Jailbreak
  9. The Jack
  10. The Razors Edge
  11. Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap
  12. Money Talks

CD 2

  1. Hells Bells
  2. Are You Ready
  3. That’s The Way I Wanna Rock N Roll
  4. High Voltage
  5. You Shook All Me Night Long
  6. Whole Lotta Rosie
  7. Let There Be Rock
  8. Bonny
  9. Highway To Hell
  10. T.N.T.
  11. For Those About To Rock (We Salute You)
AC/DC - Live

You want classic tracks? You got ‘em! on AC/DC’s second live offering some fourteen years distant from, arguably the finest live album ever ‘’If You Want Blood… You Got It’’ It only took Angus and Co. to twelve years to accumulate enough material (as if they didn’t have enough already!) to give Brian Johnson a crack of the whip and possibly steal the crown from the much lamented Bon Scott.


They are all in there. The classic oldies propped up against some very fine material cherry picked from 90’s ‘’The Razors Edge’’ album. Although AC/DC are one of those bands who, not by their own fault, fail to transfer from the live arena to CD, to witness AC/DC live is a momentous occasion in anyone’s life and that’s way to difficult to replicate on CD or DVD – ‘’Live’’ is a fresh, robust rabble rousing salute to good old fashioned Rock n Roll that only AC/DC can serve up. My only quibble being that the songs, culled from the entire “The Razors Edge” world tour of 90-91, are not fused together giving one concert rather split which does tend to reduce the intensity somewhat and against the behemoth of ‘’If You Want Blood’’ ‘’Live’’ does suffer to an extent. Still ‘’Back In Black’’ ‘’Sin City’’ ‘’Hells Bells’’ ‘’Whole Lotta Rosie’’ ‘’Let There Be Rock’’ and ‘’Highway To Hell’’ are delivered with the customary AC/DC swagger and killer precision. Although the set list is pretty much what you’d expect it is littered with a fair sprinkling of new-ish tracks with ‘’Who Made Who’’ ‘’Money Talks’’ ‘’Fire Your Guns’’ ‘’Are You Ready’’ and ‘’The Razor’s Edge’’ giving ‘DC a more commercial radio friendly edge but still kicking up a storm.


Drummer Chris Slade, replacing Phil Rudd, hammers down the rhythm with bite and passion. Cliff Williams and Malcolm Young do the basics to an exemplary rating. After all these years it’s futile to compete with the younger Young as he ducks and dives across the stage in all his school boy glory. Leaving Brian ‘Jono’ Johnson with the and still to this day, unenviable task of taking over from Bon and on ‘’Live’’ he does a top job. His snarling spit rasping croaks and screams cover the Bon-era songs with reverence whilst his own songs are just about perfectly performed.


Track breaks aside ‘’Live’’ is a worthy addition to the library of great live Rock albums. (Online December 2, 2005)

Chris Doran

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer